Have you made a difference? The Canadian Journalism Foundation calls for applications for its annual Excellence in Journalism Award

Jan 30, 2013, 14:16 ET from Canadian Journalism Foundation

TORONTO, Jan. 30, 2013 /CNW/ - News organizations that foster creativity, innovation and risk-taking are encouraged to apply for the annual Canadian Journalism Foundation Excellence in Journalism Award. Streamlined criteria and a new online form will make it easier for news organizations across the country to submit applications. The deadline for submissions is February 28.

Since 1996, the Canadian Journalism Foundation has celebrated news organizations that embrace ideals of journalistic excellence - accuracy, independence, accountability, courage and originality - with its annual Excellence in Journalism Award. Winners are selected in two categories: 1) large or national media and 2) small or local media.

Past winners include:

2012   The Current - CBC Radio One (large media)
  Vancouver Observer (small media)
2011   Toronto Star (large media)
  CBC Manitoba (small media)
2010   Toronto Star (large media)
  Metroland Durham Region (small media)
2009   The Winnipeg Free Press (large media)
  The Tyee (small media)
2008   The Canadian Press (large media)
  The St. John's Telegram (small media)
2007   The Hamilton Spectator (large media)
  The Guelph Mercury (small media)
2006   The Globe and Mail
2005      The Hamilton Spectator
2004   CBC News
2003   The Record, Kitchener
2002   CTV News

"There are always challenges to the way news organizations are run and there are practices that may get overlooked," says Chris Waddell, chair of the jury and director of the School of Journalism and Education for Carleton University. "This award sheds a light on all that a news outlet should be taking into account and celebrates the ones that excel."

Last year's winner in the large-media category was CBC Radio One's The Current. Upon accepting the award at the CJF Gala, program host Anna Maria Tremonti delivered a speech that resonated with the journalists in the audience.

"So next time a boss tells you - and this is a message to all the young journalists out there, and not-so-young journalists - to do a story you don't want to do, come up with three others you do, and fight for them," said Tremonti. "Take your journalism back."

The online Vancouver Observer won last year's Excellence in Journalism Award in the small-media category.

A shortlist will be announced in April, with the winner to be announced at the 16th Annual CJF Awards at The Fairmont Royal York in Toronto on June 13, 2013. Early-bird rates for tickets and tables are available until March 29.

For more information, visit our website.

About The Canadian Journalism Foundation

Founded in 1990, The Canadian Journalism Foundation (CJF) is a not-for-profit organization that promotes excellence in journalism by celebrating outstanding journalistic achievement through an annual awards program; by operating journalism websites, J-Source.ca (English) and ProjetJ.ca (French), in cooperation with the country's leading journalism schools; by organizing events that facilitate dialogue among journalists, business people, government officials, academics and students about the role of the media in Canadian society; and by fostering opportunities for journalism education, training and research.




SOURCE Canadian Journalism Foundation