IIROC Members Approve Board of Directors

Sep 11, 2013, 13:58 ET from Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC) - General News

Board Re-Appoints Chair M. Marianne Harris

TORONTO, Sept. 11, 2013 /CNW/ - At the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC) held in Toronto, Ontario on September 10, 2013, member firms elected/re-elected individuals to the IIROC Board of Directors.

IIROC's Board is comprised of 15 Directors, including IIROC's President and CEO, seven Independent Directors and seven Industry Directors.  Two of the seven Industry Directors represent marketplaces and five of the seven represent dealer members. At the 2013 AGM, the following elections took place:

Four new Directors were elected to the Board:

  • Gerry O'Mahoney (Independent Director)
  • Jean-Paul Bachellerie and Sheldon Dyck (Dealer Directors)
  • Kevan Cowan (Marketplace Director)

Five Directors were re-elected to serve on the IIROC Board:

  • Mike Gagné, Brian Heidecker, Daniel Muzyka (Independent Directors)
  • Luc Bachand, K. Pruyn Haskins (Dealer Directors)

Five Directors will continue to serve the second year of their two-year term:

  • James Donegan, Edward Iacobucci, Catherine Smith (Independent Directors)
  • Tal Cohen (Marketplace Director)
  • M. Marianne Harris (Dealer Director)

President and CEO

  • Susan Wolburgh Jenah, President and CEO, IIROC

At the Board meeting held on September 11, 2013, the Board re-elected M. Marianne Harris as Chair and elected Mike Gagné as Vice-Chair.

"IIROC is fortunate to have such a wealth of skills, knowledge and breadth of experience on our Board and we are delighted to welcome four new members who will add fresh perspectives and insights," said Susan Wolburgh Jenah, IIROC's President and Chief Executive Officer.

"On behalf of the Board, I would also like to acknowledge the outstanding contributions of Directors Robert Blanchard, Michael Boychuk, Thomas Kloet and Yves Néron who have left our Board over the past year," said M. Marianne Harris, Chair of IIROC's Board of Directors.

More information about IIROC's Board of Directors, its mandate and membership of its subcommittees (Corporate Governance; Finance and Audit; and Human Resources and Pension) is available on IIROC's website here. For IIROC's President and CEO AGM remarks click here.


IIROC is the national self-regulatory organization which oversees all investment dealers and trading activity on debt and equity marketplaces in Canada.  Created in 2008 through the consolidation of the Investment Dealers Association of Canada and Market Regulation Services Inc., IIROC sets high quality regulatory and investment industry standards, protects investors and strengthens market integrity while maintaining efficient and competitive capital markets.

IIROC carries out its regulatory responsibilities through setting and enforcing rules regarding the proficiency, business and financial conduct of dealer firms and their registered employees and through setting and enforcing market integrity rules regarding trading activity on Canadian equity marketplaces.

SOURCE Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC) - General News