Minister Ambrose Salutes 2012 Catalyst Canada Honorees

Nov 06, 2012, 09:00 ET from Status of Women Canada

TORONTO, Nov. 6, 2012 /CNW/ - The Honourable Rona Ambrose, Minister of Public Works and Government Services and Minister for Status of Women, congratulated the 2012 Catalyst Canada honorees, who are being celebrated today at the first Catalyst Canada Honours Conference in Toronto.

"Our government's Economic Action Plan 2012 announced we would promote the participation of women on corporate boards," said Minister Ambrose. "I applaud Catalyst Canada for showcasing the excellence and vision of four corporate leaders."

The 2012 Catalyst Canada Honours go to:

  • Claude Dusseault, chair of the board, Intact Financial Corporation, receiving Special Recognition - Board Diversity Champion;
  • Gordon M. Nixon, President and Chief Financial Officer, RBC - Company/Firm Leader;
  • Anne-Marie Hubert, Managing Partner, Advisory Services, Ernst & Young - Business Leader;
  • Jane Allen, Partner & Chief Diversity Officer, Deloitte Canada - Human Resources/Diversity Leader.

"With increased financial performance and sustainability being among the end results, it simply makes good business sense to include women as leaders in corporations," said Ms. Alex Johnson, Executive Director of Catalyst Canada Inc. "Catalyst Canada is proud to celebrate these outstanding individuals, who have stepped up to champion women."

The Catalyst Canada Honours recognize individuals who champion progress by advancing women in their organizations, industries and communities.

Since 2007, through the Women's Program of Status of Women Canada, more than $16.5 million in funding has been approved for projects that promote women's leadership and democratic participation.

SOURCE Status of Women Canada