More Than 30 Eminent Inventors To Assemble in Honor of Semiconductor Innovators in Silicon Valley, May 2

Apr 22, 2009, 10:51 ET from National Inventors Hall of Fame

Celebrating 50 Years of the Integrated Circuit, National Inventors Hall of Fame to Induct 2009 Class of 15 Inventors and Host more than 20 Past Inductees at Gala Event

AKRON, Ohio, April 22 /PRNewswire/ -- The National Inventors Hall of Fame will bring together more than 30 distinguished inventors from diverse fields including computing, networking, healthcare and aerospace at its sold out 2009 induction ceremony at the Computer History Museum in Mountain View, CA on May 2.

The annual gala event is being held in Silicon Valley for the first time to mark 50 years of the integrated circuit and to honor 15 new inductees who have made significant contributions related to or enabled by semiconductors. Neal Conan, host of National Public Radio's "Talk of the Nation," will emcee the event and tell the story of how these pioneers helped create the modern computer and electronics industries.

    WHAT              2009 National Inventors Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

    WHERE             Computer History Museum, Mountain View, CA

    WHEN              May 2, 2009, 8:00 p.m.

    WHO               - Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Andy Grove of

                      - 2009 inductees in attendance will include John Atalla
                        (MOS Transistor), Alfred Cho (Molecular Beam Epitaxy,
                        Dov Frohman-Bentchkowsky (EPROM), George Heilmeier
                        (LCD), Larry Hornbeck (Digital Micromirror Device),
                        Ken Manchester (Ion Implantation), Gordon Moore
                        (Semiconductor Production), Carver Mead (VLSI)

                      - Past inductees in attendance will include Paul Baran
                        (Digital Packet Switching), Don Bateman (Ground
                        Proximity Warning System), Forrest Bird (Respirator),
                        Bob Bower (Self-Aligned Gate MOSFET), Douglas
                        Engelbart (Computer Mouse), Federico Faggin
                        (Microprocessor), Edith Flanigen (Molecular Sieves),
                        Thomas Fogarty (Embolectomy Catheter), Helen Free
                        (Self-Test for Glucose), Ted Hoff (Microprocessor),
                        Don Keck (Optical Fiber), Irv Lachman (Catalytic
                        Converter), Ron Lewis (Catalytic Converter), Stan
                        Mazor (Microprocessor), Kary Mullis (PCR), Harold
                        Rosen (Geosynchronous Satellite), Peter Schultz
                        (Optical Fiber), Klaus Schmiegel (Prozac), Robert
                        Seiwald (FITC Labeling Agent), George Smith (Charge-
                        Coupled Device), Rangaswamy Srinivasan (Excimer
                        Laser Surgery, basis of LASIK), Louis Stevens
                        (Magnetic Disc Drive), Jim West
                        (Electret Microphone), Steve Wozniak
                        (Personal Computer), Jim Wynne
                        (Excimer Laser Surgery, basis of LASIK)

Sponsors for this year's event include the United States Patent and Trademark Office, the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation, Intel Corporation, Intellectual Ventures, Accenture, The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, IBM Almaden Research Center, Foley & Lardner LLP, Morrison & Foerster and Xilinx.

Media are invited to attend the event, but must RSVP to the contacts listed above in advance. Interviews with 2009 inductees can be arranged prior to the event.

For more information about the 2009 class of inductees and the Lifetime Achievement Award, please visit:

About The National Inventors Hall of Fame

The not-for-profit National Inventors Hall of Fame is the premier organization in America dedicated to honoring and fostering creativity and invention. Each year a new class of inventors is inducted into the Hall of Fame in recognition of their patented inventions that make human, social, and economic progress possible. Founded in 1973 by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office and the National Council of Intellectual Property Law Associations, the Hall's headquarters are in Akron, Ohio, from where it administers its national programs, including the Camp Invention(R) and Club Invention(R) programs, Invent Now(R) initiatives, and the Collegiate Inventors Competition(R).

SOURCE National Inventors Hall of Fame