Sony Music Entertainment Announces the Release of Elvis Presley 'I Believe - The Gospel Masters' - Available March 10, 2009

Mar 03, 2009, 07:00 ET from Sony Music Entertainment


Elvis Presley's 'Ultimate Gospel' collection was just certified GOLD by the RIAA.

NEW YORK, March 3 /PRNewswire/ -- As with all of his types of music, Elvis Presley made his own version of gospel music, drawing from every element of his vast musical knowledge -- without any musical prejudice or racial barriers. For the first time ever, all of Elvis' gospel and inspirational master recordings will be offered together in one magnificent 4 disc collection -- "I Believe - The Gospel Masters."

"I Believe - The Gospel Masters" offers the most comprehensive overview of Elvis' non-secular performances and provides testament to his musical excellence and contribution to the popularization of religious music.

Discs 1 through 3 feature Elvis' entire non-secular studio master recordings in chronological order from his multi-Platinum selling albums "Peace In The Valley," "His Hand In Mine," "How Great Thou Art," and "He Touched Me." Bonus CD, Disc 4, includes additional gospel and inspirational recordings from Elvis' movies, the 68' Comeback TV special and other live performances. It also includes rare home recordings of 'Hide Thou Me,' 'Show Me Thy Ways, O Lord,' and 'Oh, How I Love Jesus.'

All of the discs have been re-mastered from the original tapes using the latest DSD technology for optimum sound quality.

Of the collection, Gordon Stoker, original member of The Jordinaires (Elvis' band) says, "I think I Believe is the perfect title for a collection of Elvis' religious music because, working with him almost 15 years, I know he believed every word in these songs. It was indeed an honour to know and work with him. We shall always treasure our memories."

Testament to the popularity and continued relevance of his gospel recordings, Elvis Presley's "Ultimate Gospel" collection, which was released in 2004, was just certified GOLD by the RIAA.

    DISC 1
    1. I Believe
    2. (There'll Be) Peace In The Valley (For Me)
    3. Take My Hand, Precious Lord
    4. It Is No Secret (What God Can Do)
    5. Milky White Way
    6. His Hand In Mine
    7. I Believe In The Man In The Sky
    8. He Knows Just What I Need
    9. Mansion Over The Hilltop
    10. In My Father's House
    11. Joshua Fit The Battle
    12. Swing Down, Sweet Chariot
    13. I'm Gonna Walk Dem Golden Stairs
    14. If We Never Meet Again
    15. Known Only To Him
    16. Crying In The Chapel
    17. Working On The Building

    DISC 2
    1. Run On
    2. How Great Thou Art
    3. Stand By Me
    4. Where No One Stands Alone
    5. So High
    6. Farther Along
    7. By And By
    8. In The Garden
    9. Somebody Bigger Than You And I
    10. Without Him
    11. If The Lord Wasn't Walking By My Side
    12. Where Could I Go But To The Lord
    13. You'll Never Walk Alone
    14. We Call On Him
    15. Who Am I?

    DISC 3
    1. I Was Born About Ten Thousand Years Ago
    2. Life
    3. Only Believe
    4. Amazing Grace
    5. Lead Me, Guide Me
    6. He Touched Me
    7. I've Got Confidence
    8. An Evening Prayer
    9. Seeing Is Believing
    10. A Thing Called Love
    11. Put Your Hand In The Hand
    12. Reach Out To Jesus
    13. He Is My Everything
    14. There Is No God But God
    15. Bosom Of Abraham
    16. I, John
    17. I Got A Feelin' In My Body
    18. Help Me
    19. If That Isn't Love

    DISC 4
    1. Down By The Riverside/When The Saints Go Marchin' In (from Frankie And
    2. Sing You Children (from Easy Come, Easy Go)
    3. Swing Down, Sweet Chariot (from The Trouble With Girls (and how to get
       in it))
    4. Let Us Pray (from Change of Habit)
    5. Gospel Medley: Where Could I Go But To The Lord/Up Above My Head/Saved
       (from the '68 Comeback Special)
    6. If I Can Dream (from the '68 Comeback Special)
    7. Why Me Lord (live)
    8. How Great Thou Art (live)
    9. Help Me (live)


    10. I, John (from Elvis On Tour)
    11. Bosom Of Abraham (from Elvis On Tour)
    12. You Better Run (from Elvis On Tour)
    13. Lead Me, Guide Me (from Elvis On Tour)
    14. Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus/Nearer My God To Thee (from Elvis On Tour)
    15. Oh, How I Love Jesus (home recording)
    16. Show Me Thy Ways, O Lord (home recording)
    17. Hide Thou Me (home recording)

SOURCE Sony Music Entertainment