Statement by Bal Gosal, Minister of State (Sport), on the Announcement of the Nominees to the 2014 Canadian Olympic Freestyle Ski Team

Jan 20, 2014, 10:30 ET from Canadian Heritage

OTTAWA, Jan. 20, 2014 /CNW/ - I offer my heartfelt congratulations to the freestyle ski athletes who were named to the 2014 Canadian Olympic Team.

The athletes named to the 2014 Canadian Olympic team are: Travis Gerrits (Milton, Ont.) in Aerials; Roz Groenewoud (Calgary, Alta.), Megan Gunning (Calgary, Alta.), Keltie Hansen (Edmonton, Alta.), Noah Bowman (Calgary, Alta.), Justin Dorey (Vernon, B.C.), Matt Margetts (Penticton, B.C.), and Mike Riddle (Sherwood Park, Alta.) in Halfpipe; Dara Howell (Huntsville, Que.), Kim Lamarre (Québec City, Que.), Yuki Tsubota (Whistler, B.C.), Kaya Turski (Montréal, Que.), and Alex Beaulieu-Marchand (Québec City, Que.) in Slopestyle; Chloé Dufour-Lapointe (Montréal, Que.), Justine Dufour-Lapointe (Montréal, Que.), Maxime Dufour-Lapointe  (Montréal, Que.), Audrey Robichaud (Québec City, Que.), Alex Bilodeau (Rosemère, Que.), Marc-Antoine Gagnon (Terrebonne, Que.), and Mikaël Kingsbury (Deux-Montagnes, Que.) in Moguls.

Our athletes are an enormous source of pride for all Canadians. That is why our government is proud to provide continued support for Olympic sports and our Canadian Olympic athletes who will proudly represent this great nation on the world stage.

As Minister of State (Sport), I wish all these athletes the very best of success as they prepare to represent Canada this coming February in Sochi, Russia. This is an incredible milestone in your sport careers and all Canadians will be cheering for you and your teammates in your pursuit of world-class athletic excellence at the Olympic Winter Games.

SOURCE Canadian Heritage