Statement by Bal Gosal, Minister of State (Sport), on the Announcement of the Nominees to the 2014 Canadian Olympic Long-track Speed Skating Team

Jan 22, 2014, 13:30 ET from Canadian Heritage

OTTAWA, Jan. 22, 2014 /CNW/ - I offer my heartfelt congratulations to the long-track speed skating athletes who were named to the 2014 Canadian Olympic Team.

The athletes named to the 2014 Canadian Olympic team are: Ivanie Blondin (Ottawa, Ont.), Anastasia Bucsis (Calgary, Alta.), Kali Christ (Regina, Sask.), Marsha Hudey (White City, Sask.), Kaylin Irvine (Calgary, Alta.), Christine Nesbitt (London, Ont.), Brittany Schussler (Winnipeg, Man.), Brianne Tutt (Airdrie, Alta.), Danielle Wotherspoon-Gregg (Red Deer, Alta.), Vincent De Haître (Cumberland, Ont.), William Dutton (Humboldt, Sask.), Mathieu Giroux (Pointe-aux-Trembles, Que.), Jamie Gregg (Edmonton, Alta.), Gilmore Junio (Calgary, Alta.), Lucas Makowsky (Regina, Sask.), Denny Morrison (Cumberland, Ont.), and Muncef Ouardi (Quebec City, Que.).

Our athletes are an enormous source of pride for all Canadians. That is why our Government is proud to provide continued support for Olympic sports and our Canadian Olympic athletes who will proudly represent this great nation on the world stage.

As Minister of State (Sport), I wish all these athletes the very best of success as they prepare to represent Canada this coming February in Sochi, Russia. This is an incredible milestone in your sport careers and all Canadians will be cheering for you and your teammates in your pursuit of world-class athletic excellence at the Olympic Winter Games.

SOURCE Canadian Heritage