Statement by Bal Gosal, Minister of State (Sport), on the Announcement of the Nominees to the 2014 Canadian Olympic Snowboard Team

Jan 21, 2014, 14:30 ET from Canadian Heritage

OTTAWA, Jan. 21, 2014 /CNW/ - I offer my heartfelt congratulations to the Snowboard athletes who were named to the 2014 Canadian Olympic Team.

The athletes named to the 2014 Canadian Olympic team are: Jasey Jay Anderson (Lac Supérieur, Que.), Jenna Blasman (Kitchener, Ont.), Caroline Calvé (Lachine, Que.), Alex Duckworth (Kingsburg, N.S.), Robert Fagan (Squamish, B.C.), Kevin Hill (Vernon, B.C.), Jake Holden (Caledon, Ont.), Michael Lambert (Toronto, Ont.), Ariane Lavigne (Lac Supérieur, Que.), Marianne Leeson (Burlington, Ont.), Crispin Lipscomb (Edmonton, Alta.), Derek Livingston (Aurora, Ont.), Dominique Maltais (Petite-Rivière-St Francois, Que.), Brad Martin (Ancaster, Ont.), Matthew Morison (Blackstock, Ont.), Mercedes Nicoll (Whistler, B.C.), Maxence Parrot (Bromont, Que.), Charles Reid (Mont Tremblant, Que.), and Katie Tsuyuki (Toronto, Ont.).

Our athletes are an enormous source of pride for all Canadians. That is why our government is pleased to provide continued support for Olympic sports and our Canadian Olympic athletes who will proudly represent this great nation on the world stage.

As Minister of State (Sport), I wish all these athletes the very best of success as they prepare to represent Canada this coming February in Sochi, Russia. This is an incredible milestone in your sport careers, and all Canadians will be cheering for you and your teammates in your pursuit of world-class athletic excellence at the Olympic Winter Games.


SOURCE Canadian Heritage