Statement by the Honourable Bal Gosal, Minister of State (Sport), on the Announcement of the Members Nominated to the 2014 Canadian Paralympic Para-Alpine Team

Jan 21, 2014, 18:00 ET from Canadian Heritage

OTTAWA, Jan. 21, 2014 /CNW/ - I am pleased to congratulate the athletes who were nominated to represent Canada in Para-Alpine at the 2014 Paralympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia.

Canada's Para-Alpine Ski team will include Caleb Brousseau (Terrace, B.C.), Josh Dueck (Kimberley, B.C.) and Kurt Oatway (Calgary, Alta.) in Men's Sitting; Kimberly Joines (Rossland, B.C.) in Ladies' sitting; Matt Hallat (Coquitlam, B.C.), Braydon Luscombe (Duncan, B.C.)and Kirk Schornstein (Spruce Grove, Alta.) in Men's standing; Alana Ramsay (Calgary, Alta.) and Alexandra Starker (Calgary Alta.) in Ladies' standing Chris Williamson (Toronto, ON) and Mac Marcoux (Sault Ste-Marie, Ont.) in Men's VI, and Men's VI Guides Billy Joe Marcoux (Sault Ste-Marie, Ont.) and Robin Fémy (Mont-Tremblant, Que.).

As the largest single contributor to sport in this country, our Government is proud to support sport participation and excellence from playground to podium.

Canada is a leading sport nation, and I, along with all Canadians, recognize the hard work and dedication of our athletes as they train toward this prestigious milestone in their sport careers.

As Minister of State (Sport), I wish all the best to our Canadian Paralympic Team athletes as they prepare for the 2014 Paralympic Winter Games in Sochi. I would also like to thank the coaches, family, and officials who support and encourage these athletes who will proudly represent our country.

SOURCE Canadian Heritage