Statement by the Honourable Bal Gosal, Minister of State (Sport), on the Announcement of the Nominees to the 2012 Canadian Olympic Equestrian Team

Jul 05, 2012, 14:30 ET from Canadian Heritage

OTTAWA, July 5, 2012 /CNW/ - As Minister of State (Sport), I offer my heartfelt congratulations to the equestrian athletes who were today named to the 2012 Canadian Olympic Team in the following disciplines.

Dressage: Jacqueline Brooks, Ashley Holzer, and David Marcus, and alternates Diane Creech and Pia Fortmuller

Eventing: Peter Barry, Hawley Bennett-Awad, Rebecca Howard, Michele Mueller, Jessica Phoenix, and alternate Shandiss Wewiora

Jumping: Yann Candele, Tiffany Foster, Jill Henselwood, Eric Lamaze, Ian Millar, and alternates Jonathan Asselin, Jenna Thompson, and Lisa Carlsen

Our athletes are an enormous source of pride for all Canadians. That is why the Harper Government is proud to provide our continued support for Olympic sports and our Canadian Olympic athletes who will proudly represent our great nation on the world stage.

As Minister of State (Sport), I wish all these athletes the very best of success as they prepare for this incredible milestone in their sport careers. We will be cheering for you and your teammates this summer as you begin your pursuit for world-class athletic excellence at the Olympic Games in London.

SOURCE Canadian Heritage