Statement by the Honourable Bal Gosal, Minister of State (Sport), on the Announcement of the Nominees to the 2014 Canadian Olympic Cross-country Ski Team

Jan 14, 2014, 12:45 ET from Canadian Heritage

OTTAWA, Jan. 14, 2014 /CNW/ - I offer my heartfelt congratulations to the cross-country ski athletes who were named to the 2014 Canadian Olympic Team.

The athletes named to the 2014 Olympic team are: on the men's side, Alex Harvey (St-Ferréol-les-Neiges, Que.); Devon Kershaw (Sudbury, Ont.); Ivan Babikov (Canmore, Alta.); Lenny Valjas (Toronto); Graeme Killick (Fort McMurray, Alta.); and Jesse Cockney (Canmore, Alta.). The women's team includes Chandra Crawford (Canmore, Alta.); Daria Gaiazova (Banff, Alta.); Perianne Jones (Almonte, Ont.); Emily Nishikawa (Canmore, Alta.); and Heidi Widmer (Banff, Alta.).

Our athletes are an enormous source of pride for all Canadians. That is why our government is pleased to provide continued support for Olympic sports and our Canadian Olympic athletes who will proudly represent this great nation on the world stage.

As Minister of State (Sport), I wish all these athletes the very best of success as they prepare to represent Canada this coming February in Sochi, Russia. This is an incredible milestone in your sport careers, and all Canadians will be cheering for you and your teammates in your pursuit of world-class athletic excellence at the Olympic Winter Games.

SOURCE Canadian Heritage