Statement by the Honourable Bal Gosal, Minister of State (Sport), on the Announcement of the Nominees to the 2014 Canadian Olympic Figure Skating Team

Jan 12, 2014, 12:30 ET from Canadian Heritage

OTTAWA, Jan. 12, 2014 /CNW/ - I offer my heartfelt congratulations to the figure skating athletes who were named to the 2014 Canadian Olympic Team.

The athletes named to the 2014 Olympic team are: Kaetlyn Osmond and Gabrielle Daleman (Ladies); Meagan Duhamel/Eric Radford; Kirsten Moore-Towers/ Dylan Moscovitch and Paige Lawrence/Rudi Swiegers (Pairs); Patrick Chan, Kevin Reynolds and Liam Firus (Men's); Tessa Virtue/Scott Moir; Kaitlyn Weaver/Andre Poje and Alexandra Paul/Mitchell Islam (Dance).

Our athletes are an enormous source of pride for all Canadians. That is why our government is proud to provide continued support for Olympic sports and our Canadian Olympic athletes who will proudly represent this great nation on the world stage.

As Minister of State (Sport), I wish all these athletes the very best of success as they prepare to represent Canada this coming February in Sochi, Russia. This is an incredible milestone in your sport careers and all Canadians will be cheering for you and your teammates in your pursuit of world-class athletic excellence at the Olympic Winter Games.

SOURCE Canadian Heritage