The 2015 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Watchlist

Aug 04, 2015, 15:07 ET from Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc.

BALTIMORE, Aug. 4, 2015 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. and Transamerica® are proud to announce the Watch List for the 2015 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award®.

Logo -

Named after one of the greatest quarterbacks of all time and established in 1987, this prestigious award is presented annually at the end of each season to the nation's top college quarterback based on character, citizenship, scholastic achievement, leadership qualities and athletic accomplishments. Candidates must be a college senior or fourth-year junior on schedule to graduate with their class.

Transamerica, the presenting sponsor of this award, is proud once again to honor the tremendous legacy of Johnny Unitas® and salute a new generation of outstanding student athletes. In addition to recognizing great accomplishments on the field, the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® considers character, citizenship, integrity, leadership and honor all characteristics that are highly valued by Transamerica®.

For over a century, Transamerica has been helping people prepare a better financial future as a leading provider of solutions for insurance investments and retirement. Creating a better tomorrow comes from hard work, discipline and commitment to a solid plan. Transamerica salutes these outstanding young men on the Top 30 watch list and will cheer them on and wish them great success as they take the field this fall.  These strong leaders have demonstrated a commitment to excellence and worked hard to "Transform Tomorrow" for themselves and their teams during the season and beyond.

2015 Top 30 Watch List for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award

Vernon Adams, Oregon                                   
Brandon Allen, Arkansas                                 
Tommy Armstrong, Nebraska              
Mike Bercovici, Arizona State             
Trevone Boykin, TCU                         
Jacoby Brissett, NC State                                
Connor Cook, Michigan State                         
Brandon Doughty, WKU                                 
Blake Frohnapfel, UMass                                
Everett Golson, Florida State                           
Taysom Hill, BYU                                           
Kevin Hogan, Stanford                        
Driphus Jackson, Rice                                     
Matt Johnson, Bowling Green
Chuckie Keeton, Utah State
Cody Kessler, USC
Gunner Kiel, Cincinnati
Fredi Knighten, Arkansas State
Joe Licata, Buffalo  
Paxton Lynch, Memphis  
Maty Mauk, Missouri     
Dak Prescott, Mississippi State   
Keenan Reynolds, Navy   
Nate Sudfeld, Indiana
Zach Terrell, Western Michigan
Justin Thomas, Georgia Tech
Chad Voytik, Pittsburgh
Carson Wentz, N. Dakota State
Marquise Williams, North Carolina                  
Travis Wilson, Utah

Past standout winners of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® include: Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997); Carson Palmer (USC, 2002); Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003); Brady Quinn (Notre Dame, 2006); Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007); Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009); and Andrew Luck (Stanford, 2011). Last year's winner, Marcus Mariota of University of Oregon, 2015 Heisman Trophy winner and Pac-12 offensive player of the year.

The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® will be presented at a ceremony on December 11, 2015 in Baltimore, Maryland. For the 2015 Golden Arm Award ceremony, The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. and Transamerica are happy to be returning to the Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor Hotel & The Grand.

Proceeds from the event help support the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, which provides assistance to underprivileged and deserving student-athletes throughout Maryland and Kentucky.

In addition to Transamerica, sponsors of the Golden Arm Award include: Athlon Sports, 120 Sports, The Babe Ruth and Sports Legends Museum, Baltimore Sun Media Group, Century Engineering, Coach for America, Comcast, Dunbar Armored and Dunbar Cybersecurity, Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor & The Grand, Haddock Investments, HMS Insurance Associates, Inc., Metropolis Funding, PSAV, Panini, SILKS, TRAY, The Scott Garceau Show, MedStar Union Memorial Sports Medicine, Wilson Sporting Goods and ZBest Executive & Global Transportation Services.

You can learn more about the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® visit:

Additionally, please follow the conversation throughout the season on Twitter: @GoldenArmAward or use the hashtag, #GoldenArmAward.

Contact: John C. Unitas, Jr., 410-456-6785


SOURCE Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc.