The Canadian Journalism Foundation calls for applications for its annual Excellence in Journalism Award

Jan 29, 2014, 12:12 ET from Canadian Journalism Foundation

Have you made an impact on your community?

TORONTO, Jan. 29, 2014 /CNW/ - News organizations that foster originality, show courage and ensure accuracy—with a resulting impact on the community they serve—are encouraged to apply for the annual Canadian Journalism Foundation Excellence in Journalism Award. News organizations across the country can review the criteria before applying using the online form. The deadline for submissions is February 28, 2014.

Since 1996, the Canadian Journalism Foundation has celebrated news organizations that embrace ideals of journalistic excellence - accuracy, independence, accountability, courage and originality - with its annual Excellence in Journalism Award. Winners, since 2007, are selected in two categories: 1) large or national media outlet and 2) small or local media outlet.

Past winners include:

2013     The Winnipeg Free Press (large media)
    The Tyee (small media)
2012     The Current - CBC Radio One (large media)
    Vancouver Observer (small media)
2011     Toronto Star (large media)
    CBC Manitoba (small media)
2010     Toronto Star (large media)
    Metroland Durham Region (small media)
2009     The Winnipeg Free Press (large media)
    The Tyee (small media)
2008     The Canadian Press (large media)
    The St. John's Telegram (small media)
2007    The Hamilton Spectator (large media)
    The Guelph Mercury (small media)
2006     The Globe and Mail
2005      The Hamilton Spectator
2004     CBC News
2003     The Record, Kitchener
2002     CTV News

"At a time when journalism and news organizations are changing so quickly, it is particularly important to remember what makes great journalism and why it continues to be relevant and important to individuals and the communities in which they live," says Christopher Waddell, chair of the jury and director of the School of Journalism and Education for Carleton University.

Last year's winners in the large-media and small-media categories were the Winnipeg Free Press and The Tyee, which both previously won in 2009.

"What this award is about, and what we're celebrating here tonight is a craft that is so very important, a calling that is answered by those who care and dare to make a difference, and (who have) the courage needed to seek out truth," said Paul Samyn, editor of the Winnipeg Free Press, last year upon accepting the award.

A shortlist will be announced in April, with the winner to be revealed at the 17th Annual CJF Awards at The Fairmont Royal York in Toronto on June 4, 2014. Early-bird rates for tickets and tables are available until February 28.

For more information, visit the CJF Excellence in Journalism Award page.

About The Canadian Journalism Foundation
Founded in 1990, The Canadian Journalism Foundation (CJF) is a not-for-profit organization that promotes excellence in journalism by celebrating outstanding journalistic achievement through an annual awards program; by organizing events that facilitate dialogue among journalists, business people, academics and students about the role of the media in Canadian society; by supporting journalism websites, (English) and (French), in cooperation with the country's leading journalism schools; and by fostering opportunities for journalism education, training and research. 

SOURCE Canadian Journalism Foundation