The Canadian Journalism Foundation introduces new awards at 17th Annual CJF Awards

Feb 05, 2014, 14:17 ET from Canadian Journalism Foundation

TORONTO, Feb. 5, 2014 /CNW/ - The Canadian Journalism Foundation (CJF) is expanding its annual awards program, furthering its tradition of honouring individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to journalism and recognizing those who show exceptional promise.

Three new awards and fellowships will be presented at the 17th Annual CJF Awards on June 4 at The Fairmont Royal York in Toronto, an annual event that attracts more than 400 of the country's business and media luminaries.

"Honouring excellence in journalism is more important than ever," says Bob Lewis, chair of the CJF. "This year we are delighted to expand our awards program and also put the spotlight on some extraordinary investigative journalism."

The new awards and fellowships this year include:
News Gems - The News Gems will recognize journalists behind the excellent investigative and enterprise journalism in Canada over the past year.
The Landsberg Award - In partnership with the Canadian Women's Foundation, the CJF will recognize a journalist who is shining a spotlight on women's equality issues in Canada. The award is named in honour of Michele Landsberg, award-winning journalist, author, feminist and social activist.
CJF Fellowship for an Aboriginal Journalist - Continuing CJF's commitment to provide opportunities for those who show exceptional promise, this fellowship will provide training for an early-career Aboriginal journalist, in partnership with CBC News and RBC Foundation.

Other awards to be presented include:
- CJF Tribute
- Excellence in Journalism Award
- Lifetime Achievement Award
- Tom Hanson Photojournalism Award
- Greg Clark Award
- William Southam Journalism Fellowships
- Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy

The Canadian Journalism Foundation thanks the following organizations for their support of this event: BMO Financial Group, Labatt, Accenture, Medtronic of Canada and Waste Management of Canada. Thank you also to CBC News, CNW, Maclean's, National Post, The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star for their generous in-kind donations.

Visit our 2014 CJF Awards page for ticket and table information: Early bird rates are available until February 28.

To see highlights from last year's awards, visit our 2013 CJF Awards page. You can also view highlights from past award galas.

Twitter: #CJFawards

About The Canadian Journalism Foundation
Founded in 1990, the Canadian Journalism Foundation (CJF) is a not-for-profit organization that promotes excellence in journalism by celebrating outstanding journalistic achievement through an annual awards program; by organizing events that facilitate dialogue among journalists, business people, academics and students about the role of the media in Canadian society; by supporting journalism websites, (English) and (French), in cooperation with the country's leading journalism schools; and by fostering opportunities for journalism education, training and research.

SOURCE Canadian Journalism Foundation

Video with caption: "Video: The 17th Annual Canadian Journalism Foundation Awards, June 4, 2014". Video available at:

Image with caption: "New awards to be presented at the 17th Annual CJF Awards include the News Gems, The Landsberg Award and the CJF Fellowship for an Aboriginal Journalist. (CNW Group/Canadian Journalism Foundation)". Image available at: