The Derek Trucks Band Debuts at Number 19 on the Billboard Top 200 After Spellbinding Performance on Conan and Critical Acclaim

Jan 21, 2009, 17:46 ET from Sony Music

This Marks the Band's Highest Chart Position to Date

NEW YORK, Jan. 21 /PRNewswire/ -- The Derek Trucks Band sets a new personal record with their sixth studio album, Already Free (Sony Music/Victor), debuting at number 19 on Billboard's Top 200 chart, number 1 on the Internet chart, number 4 on the Rock chart and number 1 on the Blues chart. This marks the band's highest debut on the Billboard Top 200 chart to date.

The album, in stores and online now, has been met with tremendous excitement from the media and DTB's fan base alike. Praised as the band's "most accessible blues-rock set to date" by Rolling Stone Magazine, the first single, "Down in the Flood," a stirring Bob Dylan cover from the album The Basement Tapes, has been embraced at radio with very strong out-of-the-box support at AAA and Mainstream Rock Radio formats.

The Derek Trucks Band kicked off their release week with a riveting performance of the album's first single, "Down in the Flood" on Late Night with Conan O'Brien followed by a flurry of positive reviews. Rolling Stone hailed, "Derek Trucks could very well be the best guitarist of his generation." The Philadelphia News called the album, "Exquisite." Boston Globe said, "You probably won't hear a better rock/R&B record this year." And Entertainment Weekly exclaimed, "Trucks' bluesy playing is excellent throughout..."

The album was self-produced by Trucks and recorded in his Jacksonville, Florida home studio. Nearly a year in the making and brimming with a newfound focus on creating original material, Already Free is the band's natural evolution as they move forward integrating influences that span a variety of musical genres. Known for their blues roots, the group takes this album well beyond blues to incorporate the larger sounds of rock & soul.

The band, which consists of Derek Trucks on guitar, bassist Todd Smallie, percussionist Count M'Butu, drummer Yonrico Scott, keyboardist Kofi Burbridge and singer Mike Mattison, was joined by their famous friends-- pals like Doyle Bramhall II, Oteil Burbridge and Trucks' wife Susan Tedeschi can all be heard on the album.

Raised in a home filled with music, Trucks picked up a guitar at nine and was quickly considered a guitar prodigy. He has gone on to a storybook guitar career playing with some of the greatest musicians of all time including Eric Clapton, Willie Nelson, Buddy Guy, a regular stint with the Allman Brothers Band (his uncle, Butch Trucks is a founding member), performing on Clapton's Crossroads Guitar Festival Emmy-winning DVD, opening a tour for Carlos Santana, and appearing on the cover of Rolling Stone magazine, to name a few of the highlights. Already Free reflects all of Trucks' many influences and experiences, and highlights the quintessential Derek Trucks Band sound of mixing soulful vocals and expert guitar playing on what is poised to be the band's definitive album.

The band kicks off their North American tour February 6, 2009 in Portland, ME.


    1.  Down In The Flood
    2.  Something To Make You Happy
    3.  Maybe This Time
    4.  Sweet Inspiration
    5.  Don't Miss Me
    6.  Get What You Deserve
    7.  Our Love
    8.  Down Don't Bother Me
    9.  Days Is Almost Gone
    10. Back Where I Started
    11. I Know
    12. Already Free

For more information on the CD and tour visit

SOURCE Sony Music