The Galien Foundation Announces 2015 Prix Galien USA Nominees for "Best Biotechnology Product," "Best Pharmaceutical Agent," and "Best Medical Technology"

Winners to be Recognized by Research and Academic Leaders on October 27th at the 2015 Prix Galien USA Awards Ceremony in New York City

Aug 06, 2015, 11:00 ET from Galien Foundation

NEW YORK, Aug. 6, 2015 /PRNewswire/ -- The Galien Foundation today announced the 2015 nominees for the ninth annual Prix Galien USA Awards. The Prix Galien Award is considered the biomedical industry's highest accolade and recognizes the technical, scientific and clinical research skills necessary to develop innovative medicines and devices.

Nominees include biomedical products across three categories – biotechnology, pharmaceutical, and technology products – that advance the human condition and which were approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) during the past five years.

Nominees for the Prix Galien USA 2015 Awards are:

Best Biotechnology Product (Nominees) 

BLINCYTO® (blinatumomab)                  


OPDIVO® (nivolumab)                         

Bristol-Myers Squibb

CYRAMZA® (ramucirumab)                 

Eli Lilly and Company

TRULICITY (dulaglutide)                   

Eli Lilly and Company

KADCYLA® (ado-trastuzumab emtansine)          


BENLYSTA® (belimumab)                            


KEYTRUDA® (pembrolizumab)‎                     

Merck & Co., Inc.             

TRUMENBA® (Meningococcal Group B Vaccine)       

Pfizer Inc.

ENTYVIO® (vedolizumab)                                  


Best Pharmaceutical Agent (Nominees)   

AMPYRA® (dalfampridine)                          

Acorda Therapeutics, Inc.

DALVANCE® (dalbavancin)                    


OPSUMIT® (macitentan)                       

Actelion Pharmaceuticals, Ltd.

BELVIQ® (lorcaserin HCl) CIV                

Arena Pharmaceuticals, Inc. & Eisai, Inc.

XTANDI® (enzalutamide)‎                   

Astellas Pharma Inc. & Medivation

LYNPARZA (olaparib) ‎                     


ADEMPAS® (riociguat)                        

Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals

TECFIDERA® (dimethyl fumarate)         


ELIQUIS® (apixaban)                            

Bristol-Myers Squibb & Pfizer, Inc.

OTEZLA® (apremilast)                           

Celgene Corporation

POMALYST® (pomalidomide)                 

Celgene Corporation

HALAVEN® (eribulin mesylate)                

Eisai Inc.

ESBRIET® (pirfenidone)                      


HARVONI® (ledipasvir/sofosbuvir)          

Gilead Sciences, Inc.

MEKINIST (trametinib)/TAFINLAR® (dabrafenib)  

GSK/ Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation

AKYNZEO® (netupitant/palonosetron)            

Helsinn Group

IMBRUVICA® (ibrutinib)                           

Janssen Biotech, Inc. & Pharmacyclics LLC, an AbbVie Company

BELSOMRA® (suvorexant) C-IV                    

Merck & Co., Inc.

ZERBAXA (ceftolozane/tazobactam)           

Merck & Co., Inc.

ZONTIVITY® (vorapaxar)                         

Merck & Co., Inc.

ZYKADIA (ceritinib)                            

Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation

XELJANZ® (tofacitinib citrate)                

Pfizer, Inc.

ORBACTIV® (oritavancin)                      

The Medicines Company

JUBLIA® (efinaconazole)                         

Valeant Pharmaceuticals International, Inc.

Best Medical Technology (Nominees)    

VITEK® MS                                        


The ALAIR Bronchial Thermoplasty System        

Boston Scientific

PRECISION SPECTRA Spinal Cord                 

Boston Scientific

Stimulator System                                  

SAPIEN 3 Transcatheter Heart Valve                

Edwards Lifesciences   


Exact Sciences Corporation


& Software Module                                   

Johnson & Johnson (Biosense Webster)

ATTUNE® Knee System                            

Johnson & Johnson (DePuy Synthes Companies)

EVARREST® Fibrin Sealant Patch                

Johnson & Johnson (Ethicon)

MOBI-C® Cervical Disc                              


COFLEX® Interlaminar Stabilization®           

Paradigm Spine

T2Candida Panel                                       

T2 Biosystems, Inc.

FlowFusion ND Infusion Catheter              

Cook Regentec

"Biomedical research can only exist when there are those who are willing to push innovation and apply new understanding to the discovery of new drugs and technology," remarked Dr. P. Roy Vagelos, Chairman of the Awards Committee. "This year's nominees are catalysts for the development of disease-altering advances that bring new hope to patients through biopharmaceutical and medical technology innovation. It is upon these values that the Galien Foundation is predicated, and we're proud to honor those in the field who exemplify these same principles."

The Prix Galien USA Committee, comprised of 10 renowned leaders from the biomedical industry and academia, including five Nobel Laureates, is responsible for evaluating nominees. Winners will be honored at the Prix Galien USA Awards Ceremony on October 27, 2015 at 6:30 p.m., at the American Museum of Natural History in New York City. Registration for the 2015 Prix Galien USA Awards Ceremony is open and can be accessed here.

Galien Awards Committee 2015

  • Pr Richard Axel, M.D., Nobel Laureate, Co-director, the Kavli Institute for Brain Science, Columbia University Medical Center, New York.
  • Pr Michael S. Brown, M.D., Nobel Laureate, Professor of Molecular Genetics and Internal Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas.
  • Pr Laurie Glimcher, M.D., Dean of Weill Cornell Medical College and Provost for Medical Affairs, Cornell University, New York.
  • Pr Joseph Goldstein, M.D., Nobel Laureate, Professor of Molecular Genetics and Internal Medicine, UT, Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas.
  • Pr Robert S. Langer, M.D., David H. Koch Institute Professor at MIT.
  • Pr Paul A. Marks, M.D., Laboratory Head  of Cell Biology Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, New York . President, Emeritus, MSKCC.
  • Pr Bengt Samuelsson, M.D., Ph.D., Nobel Laureate, Former President of Karolinska Institute and Former Chairman of the Nobel Foundation.
  • Pr Marc Tessier-Lavigne, Ph.D., President and Professor Laboratory of Brain Development and Repair, The Rockefeller University, New York.
  • Pr Roy Vagelos, M.D., Chairman. Chairman of Regeneron Pharmaceuticals and Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Merck & Co., Inc.
  • Pr Elie Wiesel, Peace Nobel Laureate, Boston University Professor Emeritus. Honorary Member.

About the Galien Foundation
The Galien Foundation fosters, recognizes and rewards excellence in scientific innovation to improve the state of human health. Our vision is to be the catalyst for the development of the next generation of innovative treatment and technologies that will impact human health and save lives.

The Foundation oversees and directs activities in the USA for the Prix Galien, an international award that recognizes outstanding achievements in improving the human condition through the development of innovative therapies. The Prix Galien was created in France in 1970 in honor of Galen, the father of medical science and modern pharmacology. Worldwide, the Prix Galien is regarded as the equivalent of the Nobel Prize in biopharmaceutical and medical technology research.

For more information visit

Galien Foundation Media Contact:
Lee Davies
Makovsky on behalf of The Galien Foundation

Logo -

SOURCE Galien Foundation