U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Announces Appointments to Oklahoma State Advisory Committee

Sep 29, 2011, 06:00 ET from U.S. Commission on Civil Rights

WASHINGTON, Sept. 29, 2011 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights has announced the appointment of 12 Oklahoma citizens to its Oklahoma State Advisory Committee.

(Logo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20110524/DC08224LOGO)

Kimberly Tolhurst, Delegated the Authority of the Staff Director, announced the appointments of Andrew W. Lester of Edmond; Michael Barlow of Edmond, James S. Bryant of Enid, Brian K. Corpening of Oklahoma City, Cara Cowan Watts of Claremore, James A. Davis of Stillwater, Anthony R. Douglas of Oklahoma City, Hannibal B. Johnson of Tulsa, Casey Ross-Petherick of Tahlequah, Michael T. Shanahan of Oklahoma City, Andrew C. Spiropoulos of Oklahoma City and Nate S. Waters of Tulsa. The Commission appointed Andrew W. Lester as Chairman.  The appointments are for two years and members serve without compensation.

Congress has directed the Commission to establish state advisory committees (SAC's) in all 50 states and the District of Columbia to study issues and forward advisory reports to the Commission on matters within agency's jurisdiction that reflect the views of the majority of SAC members producing the report.

The SACs' reports to the Commission may rely on studies and data generated by third parties and are not subject to an independent review by Commission staff.  The views expressed in reports are those of a majority of the State Advisory Committee members and do not necessarily represent the views of the Commission or its individual members, nor do they represent the policies of the U.S. government.

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with monitoring federal civil rights enforcement.  Members include Chairman Martin Castro and Commissioners Roberta Achtenberg, Todd Gaziano, Gail Heriot, Peter Kirsanow, David Kladney, Abigail Thernstrom, and Michael Yaki.  The Commission's website is http://www.usccr.gov

Lenore Ostrowsky, Acting Chief
Public Affairs Unit
(202) 376-8591

SOURCE U.S. Commission on Civil Rights