2012 NSC Rising Stars of Safety recognized at National Safety Council Congress & Expo

Oct 23, 2012, 13:03 ET from National Safety Council

'44 Under 40' honored for safety contributions

ORLANDO, Fla., Oct. 23, 2012 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Tonight, the National Safety Council will recognize its latest class of NSC Rising Stars of Safety, at a National Awards Celebration held in conjunction with its 2012 NSC Congress & Expo Celebration of the Century. The NSC Rising Stars of Safety program, presented by DuPont Sustainable Solutions, recognizes these leaders of tomorrow for their commitment to safety, influence on safety culture, promotion of continuous workplace safety improvement and creation of safety initiatives producing measurable outcomes – foundational pillars of the Council's Journey to Safety Excellence philosophy.

(Logo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20120705/DC35658LOGO)

"It is always a pleasure to interact with and recognize our NSC Rising Stars of Safety," said Janet Froetscher. "Their energy, innovation and commitment to safety is just what is needed to propel us into the next century of safety progress."

Chosen among more than 160 nominations, the 44 honorees for the Class of 2012 are listed below and featured in the October issue of Safety+Health magazine:

  • Abdulrahim AlMaraghi: Fire & Safety Superintendent, GPIC (Manam, Bahrin – Bahrain)
  • Marycarmen Aparicio: NAM Safety Coordinator – PA, ABB, Inc. (San Luis, PotosiMexico)
  • Andrea  Ball: Safety Officer, City of Daytona Beach (Saint Cloud, FL)
  • Michael Bearak: Safety Programs Manager, MSC Waterworks (Concord, NC)
  • Anthony Blodgett: Ground Safety Manager, 52nd Fighter Wing Safety Office, U.S. Air Force
    (Spangdahlem AB, Germany)
  • Kristine Brobst: SH&E Manager, AECOM (Pittsburgh, PA)
  • Robert Casper: Safety Specialist, United States Marine Corps (Parris Island, SC)
  • Guillermo Castillo: Corporate Safety Project Manager, Cummins Inc. (Columbus, IN)
  • Craig Chunchick: Sr. Manager, Safety, Health, & Environmental, Kelly Services, Inc. (Troy, MI)
  • Thomas Colla: EHS Manager - Europe, Middle East and Africa, Xylem Inc., Residential and Commercial Water (Altavilla, Vicentina – Italy)
  • Jose Rafael Concepcion: Manager, Occupational Safety, Volvo Construction Equipment
    (Shippensburg, PA)
  • Denise Coppinger: Occupational Health and Safety Specialist, Boeing Philadelphia Environment, Health & Safety (Province Park, PA)
  • Kifri Edwards: Manager, Environmental Health and Safety, MedStar Georgetown University Hospital (Washington D.C.)
  • Stephen Falter: Compliance Safety and Health Officer, Occupational Safety and Health Administration (Concord, NH)
  • John Farris: Senior Environmental, Health & Safety Specialist, Pfizer Inc., Global Logistics and Supply (Memphis, TN)
  • Marisol Flores: Behavioral Safety & Industrial Hygienist Tech, DM Petroleum Operations Company (New Orleans, LA)
  • Chad Franciscus: HSE Manager, Honeywell Technology Solutions Inc. (Jacksonville, FL)
  • Michael Garza: EHS Administrator, Toyota Logistics Services, Inc. (San Antonio, TX)
  • Robert Glessner: Technical Consultant, Liberty Mutual Insurance (Mohnton, PA)
  • Charles Griswold (CG): Contracts Advisor, ExxonMobil, Global Services Company (Houston, TX)
  • Jesse Hardy: Director of HSE Compliance, Supreme Industries (Harwinton, CT)
  • Thomas Heebner: AVP/ Risk Consultant, HUB International Limited (Chicago, IL)
  • Melanie Hemmer: Safety Director, Divane Bros. Electric Co. (Franklin Park, IL)
  • Toby Henry: Shop Lead, Sharp Memorial Hospital/Sodexo (San Diego, CA)
  • Haider Iqbal: Process Safety Engineer, Engro Fertilizers Limited (Daharki, Sindh – Pakistan)
  • Jacob Johanson: Global Director, Health Safety & Environmental, Thermon Group Holdings, Inc.
    (San Marcos, TX)
  • Michael Karr: Regional EH&S Manager, The Shaw Group (Prairieville, LA)
  • James Kelley: Safety Manager, American Refining Group, Inc. (Bradford, PA)
  • Phillip Lacy: Safety Engineer/Specialist, B&W Technical Services Pantex LLC (Amarillo, TX)
  • Ning Li: Traffic Control Devices Application Program Manager, Virginia Department of Transportation (Glen Allen, VA)
  • Aaron Lilach: Senior Safety Manager, RAS Delivery Services, Inc. (Muskego, WI)
  • Thomas Loughman: HSE Manager, URS Federal Services (Germantown, MD)
  • Ivan Maldonado: EHS Team Leader, Global Health Care, Kimberly-Clark Mexico (Ixtaczoquitlan, VeracruzMexico)
  • Scott May: Safety Coordinator, DuPont Pioneer (Leroy, IL)
  • Robert Neese: EHS Manager Global Field Service and Non-operation, Rockwell Automation (Milwaukee, WI)
  • Maria Ortiz-Rios: Global Field Safety Training Manager, Nalco Company (Naperville, IL)
  • Joe Patterson: EH&S Manager, formerly of OraSure Technologies, Inc. (Bethlehem, PA)
  • John Pettit: Assistant Vice President of Health, Environmental and Safety, VSE Corporation (Alexandria, VA)
  • Jessica Rich: Safety Engineer, Federal Highway Administration-TN Division (Nashville, TN)
  • Devon Rosenfeld: Associate Research Scientist, Feedstocks & Energy R&D, The Dow Chemical Company (Freeport, TX)
  • Tricia Sweat: Safety, Health, & Environmental Coordinator, Graphic Packaging International, Inc. (Renton, WA)
  • Graham Walker: U.S. Army Safety Engineer, Office of the Director of Army Safety (Fort Belvoir, VA)
  • Cheng (Jerry) Zheng: Environmental, Health and Safety Engineer, Mine Safety Appliances Company (Suzhou, JiangsuChina)
  • Troy Zimmerman: CSB Americas EHS Leader, Owens Corning (Granville, OH)

About the National Safety Council
Founded in 1913 and chartered by Congress, the National Safety Council (nsc.org) is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to save lives by preventing injuries and deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the road through leadership, research, education and advocacy. NSC advances this mission by partnering with businesses, government agencies, elected officials and the public in areas where we can make the most impact -- distracted driving, teen driving, workplace safety and safety beyond the workplace.

Connect with NSC:

SOURCE National Safety Council