2015 Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Awards Announced on MLB Network

Three-time Positional Winner Andrelton Simmons Receives Overall Individual Trophy

Arizona Diamondbacks Honored as Top Defensive Team of 2015

Nov 11, 2015, 19:05 ET from Wilson Sporting Goods Co.

NEW YORK, Nov. 11, 2015 /PRNewswire/ -- Atlanta Braves shortstop Andrelton Simmons has been named the overall 2015 Wilson Defensive Player of the Year. This recognition marks the third consecutive Defensive Player of the Year Award for Simmons and the first time he has received top accolades as Best Overall Defensive Player. Simmons and St. Louis Cardinals right fielder Jason Heyward are the only two winners on this year's list who also won the awards last year. The Arizona Diamondbacks received the award for Defensive Team of the Year for the first time.

The 2015 Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Award winners, by position, are:

  • (P) Jacob deGrom – New York Mets
  • (C) Buster Posey – San Francisco Giants
  • (1B) Paul Goldschmidt – Arizona Diamondbacks
  • (2B) Dee Gordon – Miami Marlins
  • (3B) Nolan Arenado – Colorado Rockies
  • (SS) Andrelton Simmons – Atlanta Braves*
  • (LF) Starling Marte – Pittsburgh Pirates
  • (CF) Kevin Pillar – Toronto Blue Jays
  • (RF) Jason Heyward – St. Louis Cardinals
    • Heyward received the Overall Defensive Player of the Year Award in 2014.
  • Defensive Team of the Year – Arizona Diamondbacks
  • Andrelton Simmons named overall 2015 Wilson Defensive Player of the Year

Of the nine players honored, eight are from the National League and one is from the American League.

The winners were announced tonight as part of a one-hour special on MLB Network hosted by Lauren Shehadi and Eric Byrnes. The Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Awards recognizes the best defensive player at each position.  Founded in 2012, the winners are determined using a formula that combines traditional defensive stats with advanced metrics, as well as the data logged by the baseball experts working for the scouting service Inside Edge.

Touted as one of the more prominent and respected MLB awards, the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Award has gained traction and relativity due to a new age of expanding analytical culture and statistical player analysis.

For more information about the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Award and for a complete list of past winners, please visit http://atmlb.com/1NnGOle .

To learn more, please visit www.wilson.com or follow Wilson on Instagram (@WilsonBallGlove), Twitter (@WilsonBallGlove), and Facebook.

Chicago-based Wilson Sporting Goods Co., a subsidiary of Amer Sports, is one of the world's leading manufacturer of sports equipment, apparel and accessories. As the Official Ball Glove of Major League Baseball for over 20 years, Wilson develops high performance products for baseball and softball athletes and uses player insights to develop products that push equipment innovation into new territories. Wilson currently makes and sells high performance gloves, bats, uniforms, apparel, protective gear, accessories, player development equipment and tools through its Wilson, Louisville Slugger, DeMarini and ATEC brands. Through the Company's dedication to creating products that enable athletes at every level to perform at their best, Wilson has earned its place as a leader in sporting goods for over a century.



SOURCE Wilson Sporting Goods Co.