Adm. William H. McRaven and the Men and Women of U.S. Special Operations Command to Receive 2012 American Patriot Award

Jul 09, 2012, 14:10 ET from National Defense University Foundation

National Defense University Foundation to Present the Prestigious Honor at its 11th Annual Gala

WASHINGTON, July 9, 2012 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The National Defense University Foundation today announced Admiral William H. McRaven, Commander of U.S. Special Operations Command (USSOCOM), and the Men and Women of USSOCOM as the recipients of the 2012 American Patriot Award. Washington's most powerful and influential leaders will gather to celebrate their patriotic leadership and devotion to our nation, and to witness Adm. McRaven receiving this prestigious award at the American Patriot Award Gala on Thursday, November 15, 2012, at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington, D.C. The Master of Ceremonies for the evening will be award-winning journalist Leon Harris, ABC7/WJLA-TV anchorman.

"National Defense University Foundation's American Patriot Award recognizes exceptional Americans who have demonstrated a profound and abiding love of country and whose inspirational leadership and selfless dedication symbolizes our nation's ideas, values and democratic principles," said Albert C. Zimmerman, Chairman of the Board of Directors, National Defense University Foundation. "Adm. McRaven and the Men and Women of U.S. Special Operations Command have played a vital role in the security of our nation, taking global responsibility to protect our freedoms against terrorist networks."

Past recipients of the American Patriot Award include Senator Joe Lieberman and Senator John McCain; former President George H.W. Bush; General Colin Powell; Dr. Henry Kissinger; former Defense Secretary Robert M. Gates; General David H. Petraeus, USA (Ret), and the Extraordinary Men and Women of CENTCOM; Senator Bob Dole; Senator John W. Warner and Representative Ike Skelton; Senators Daniel Inouye and Ted Stevens; Astronaut and Senator John Glenn; former Defense Secretary Caspar Weinberger; and the Men and Women of our Nation's Defense Team.

The American Patriot Award Gala is one of Washington, D.C.'s most illustrious events, attended by nearly 600 guests, including senior Administration officials, Members of Congress, senior military officials, Ambassadors, dignitaries, and corporate and community leaders. 

Past attendees include former Chairman of the Federal Reserve Alan Greenspan; former White House Chief of Staff Rahm Emanuel; ABC News' Chief White House Correspondent Martha Raddatz; NBC News' Chief Foreign Affairs Correspondent Andrea Mitchell; former Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Admiral Michael Mullen; former National Security Advisor Brent Scowcroft; former Commandant of the U.S. Marine Corps General James Conway; and, Commanding General of the U.S. Army Materiel Command General Ann Dunwoody, USA.

Beyond honoring the recipients, the Gala showcases and supports the National Defense University and its crucial mission of preparing military and civilian leaders from the U.S. and other countries to examine national and international security challenges through multidisciplinary educational and research programs, professional exchanges, and outreach, providing a common educational experience for all the various professional communities engaged in national security. The main campus is located at Fort McNair in Washington, D.C.

The National Defense University Foundation is a non-profit organization that has provided private sector support for the National Defense University in mission-oriented areas for more than 30 years. Additionally, in collaboration with the University, the Foundation develops and manages outreach programs that help educate and engage the public for a better understanding of critical national security issues and the vital role NDU plays in addressing them.

For more information on the American Patriot Award and the Gala, please visit our website at or contact Cathleen Pearl at 202-685-2527 or

SOURCE National Defense University Foundation