Advertising Research Foundation Announces Winners of 2011 ARF Great Mind Awards

From Newcomers to Veterans, Twenty-Four Are Honored For Outstanding Contributions to the Advancement of Advertising Research

Mar 23, 2011, 15:00 ET from Advertising Research Foundation (ARF)

NEW YORK, March 23, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- The Advertising Research Foundation (ARF) today announced the winners of the 2011 ARF Great Mind Awards at its annual convention, Re:think 2011, in New York City. Twenty-four honorees across six award categories were recognized for their contributions to the excellence and advancement of advertising research.

Awards were co-presented by David Krajicek, co-president, GfK Custom Research North America, and Steve Coffey, CRO, NPD Group and chairman, ARF Board of Directors. "This prestigious award recognizes the 'Great Minds' who contribute to the excellence of our industry and advance the art and science of advertising research, "remarked Krajicek. "GfK is proud to be a part of this celebration."

This year's winners were chosen out of 130 nominees considered to be the most commendable individuals in the advertising research community. Jeanne Vaughn of GlobalHue took home the Grand Innovation Award for "Nations Within a Nation," the first piece of cultural research addressing issues surrounding U.S. demographic segmentation. Grand Rising Star Award winner, Kelly Johnson of ESPN, was recognized for her work in groundbreaking cross-media research initiatives for the sports cable network and for introducing the first-ever application of the TouchPoints research technology to the U.S. market.

Ed Keller, CEO, Keller Fay Group, received the Grand Member Recognition Award, which goes to individuals who made an outstanding contribution to the ARF in the prior year. Keller, who's term as member of the ARF Board of Directors ends this year, was honored for his many contributions to the ARF throughout his tenure including, serving as an active member of the ARF Board, the program committees for the Audience Measurement Conference and annual Re:think convention, as well as judge for the annual ARF David Ogilvy Awards for Excellence in Advertising Research.

For the first time since the inception of the ARF Great Mind Awards in 2006, a new Quality in Research Award was introduced and awarded to companies GMI Interactive and Mintel Market Research, and Ipsos ASI for their effective and successful implementation of high-quality, uniquely-designed questionnaires.

ARF Lifetime Achievement Awards went to Rosi Ware, SVP of Development, Kantar and Dr. Joseph T. Plummer, adjunct professor, Columbia Business School and senior associate, Olson Zaltman Associates for their significant ongoing contributions to the advertising research industry and to the ARF.

The 2011 ARF Great Mind Awards concludes Re:think 2011 – Managing the Complexity Maze: Insights as the Navigator. The four-day event – the largest for the ARF was designed to give marketers tools and insights to make the best possible decisions in today's fast-changing environment.

The full list of category award winners is also available online via the official ARF Re:think 2011 website,

About the Advertising Research Foundation (ARF):

Founded in 1936 by the Association of National Advertisers and the American Association of Advertising Agencies, the ARF is dedicated to aggregating, creating and distributing research-based knowledge that will help members make better advertising decisions. ARF members include more than 400 advertisers, advertising agencies, associations, research firms, and media companies. The ARF is the only organization that brings all members of the industry to the same table for strategic collaboration. In 2011, the ARF celebrates its 75th Anniversary as the industry's authoritative source of advertising knowledge. The ARF is located at 432 Park Ave. South, 6th Floor, New York, NY 10016 and on the Web at



For the individual (or team) who, over the past year, has created, developed and proven the impact of innovative new research methods or ideas.

  • Grand - Jeanne Vaughn, GlobalHue
  • Gold - Richard Silberstein, Neuro-Insight
  • Silver - Ginny Musante, Xbox LIVE
  • Bronze - Paul Donato, The Nielsen Company
  • Bronze - Mainak Mazumdar, The Nielsen Company


For researchers who have less than seven years experience, and whose contributions during the last year marked the individual as a researcher with potential for future greatness.

  • Grand - Kelly Johnson, ESPN
  • Gold - Carrie Breisach, General Mills
  • Silver - Michael Hulfachor, comScore ARS
  • Bronze - Melissa Ludack, InsightExpress
  • Bronze - Sean Bruich, Facebook, Inc.


For individuals who made an outstanding contribution to the ARF in the prior year.

  • Grand - Ed Keller, Keller Fay Group
  • Gold -  Robert Woodard, Campbell Soup Company
  • Gold - Lisa Joy Rosner, Netbase
  • Silver - Ian Lewis, Cambiar
  • Bronze - Susan Frede, Lightspeed Research


For exemplary service to the ARF in the role of Member Ambassador.

  • Agency - Kenzo Setoguchi, Dentsu, Inc.
  • Media - Jess Hanson, Clear Channel Radio Operating Stations
  • Marketer - Jim Figura, Colgate-Palmolive Company
  • Research - Peter Daboll, Ace Metrix


For the person or team who made significant contributions to excellence in research by implementing a survey instrument of the highest standards for quality and effectiveness.

  • GMI Interactive and Mintel Market Research
  • Ipsos ASI


For lifetime contributions to the advertising research industry and to the ARF.

  • Rosi Ware, Kantar
  • Joseph T. Plummer, Olson Zaltman Associates


Heather James

SVP, Chief Marketing Officer


Media / PR contacts:

Simone Moyle

Melissa Connerton

ARF Marketing & Communications Director

CooperKatz & Company for ARF



SOURCE Advertising Research Foundation (ARF)