AFCEA DC Announces the 2013/2014 Leadership and Board of Directors

Aug 22, 2013, 11:00 ET from AFCEA DC

WASHINGTON, Aug. 22, 2013 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The Armed Forces Communications and Electronics Association of Washington DC (AFCEA DC) announces its Leadership and Board of Directors for the 2013-2014 term. AFCEA DC is a non-profit professional association that provides an ethical forum where government and industry can work together on technology issues that directly impact the Defense & National Security. The Officers and Directors lend their time and expertise to developing programs that provide our members with technical, policy, regulatory, and budget information that shapes federal technology decisions.  The AFCEA DC calendar of events includes the monthly luncheon panel series, seasonal executive-level events, annual technical symposia focused on Cybersecurity, Mobile, & Emerging technologies, year-long working groups supporting those business lines (Cybersecurity, Mobile, & Emerging tech), small business programs, and the Young AFCEAN professional development series. Proceeds from the events drive contributions to one of the most robust scholarship & STEM Education programs in the area.

AFCEA DC President Bill O'Neill welcomes new members to the Chapter, and encourages the active participation of all of the dedicated volunteers. He will recognize our sponsors, members and guests at the Kick-Off Monthly Luncheon program on Mon, September 16th featuring a terrific panel discussion on the future of Army IT Programs & Priorities.  Bill O'Neill is the Regional Vice President of HP Networking (HPN) for the Federal Government at Hewlett-Packard.  Bill is a member of the leadership team and is goaled to achieve growth and market share for the HP Networking solutions that are critical to Enterprise, Server, Storage, and Network (ESSN) and Converged cloud Infrastructure strategy. He has nearly 30 years of service, leadership, and innovation, along with a successful track record of managing major accounts in the defense, civilian, and secure business areas, as well as leading teams that provide end-to-end IT telecommunications solutions.

Working with Mr. O'Neill is the AFCEA DC Executive Committee, the Board of Directors, and various advisors and Committee Chairs.  The Leadership team consists of executives from both large and small businesses, reflecting a wide-range of Department of Defense (DoD) and Information Technology (IT) experiences.  Join us in congratulating the 2013/2014 AFCEA DC Leadership and Board of Directors.

Executive Committee
- President, Bill O'Neill, HP
- Executive Vice President, Lisa Newell, Dell
- Senior Vice President, Tim Solms, Microsoft
- VP Chapter Operations, Adam Owings, Gartner
- VP Communications, Benita Bottom, Business InfoStrategies
- VP Luncheon & Breakfast Programs, Dean Economou, CenturyLink
- VP STEM Education, Tina Jordan, CSC
- VP Strategic Initiatives, Karen Van Buren, Salient Technologies
- Board Treasurer, Nathan Jones, Red Hat
- Board Secretary, Kelly Edington, Provideo Management

Immediate Past-President
- Brian Roach, Juniper

Senior Advisors to the President and Board of Directors
- CAPT Ted Bronson (USN, Ret), The Bronson Group (Historian)
- Jim Lauducci (Chair, Ethics Committee)

DC Young AFCEANs Committee
- Corinne Combeau, The Goal Inc. (Chair)

At-Large Director, 2014
- Cyrus Zolghadri, Formula Strategy Group

Board Directors (Class of 2013-2016)
- Scott Barnett, Level 3 Comm
- Barbara Bridges, Par Excellence (Chair, Cybersecurity Symposium)
- Gene Buckley, CISCO
- Evelyn DePalma, EMD Proconsulting
- Jeff Freitas, M3COM
- Lon Lane, K2 (Chair, Finance Committee)
- Anthony Robbins, Brocade
- Marc Sachs, Verizon (Co-Chair, Cybersecurity Working Group Steering Committee)
- Marty Spain, n-tieractive

Board Directors (Class of 2012-2015)
- John Custer, EMC Corporation
- Tom Greiner, Accenture (Co-Chair, Emerging Tech Working Group Steering Committee)
- Brian Hajost, Steel Cloud (Chair, Mobile Working Group Steering Committee)
- Nathan Jones, Red Hat (Board Treasurer)
- Chico Moline, Harris
- Phil Moser, Ciena Government Solutions
- Ed Nemerof, GovConnection
- Karl Spinnenweber, URS Corporation
- Rob Walker, Oracle America

Board Directors (Class of 2011-2014)
- Paula Armentrout, Parabon Computation
- Neil Christopher, Polaris Consulting
- Dean Economou, CenturyLink (VP, Luncheon and Breakfast Programs)
- Tom Lydon, Vistronix (Chair, Spring Military Leadership Awards Dinner)
- Bo Norton, Vizada
- William Russ, Raytheon
- Bob Stanton, Verizon
- Hala Strohmier, Strohmier Consulting      
- Karen Van Buren, Salient Federal Solutions (VP, Strategic Initiatives)


AFCEA DC represents the professional communications, electronics, intelligence, and information systems community. The Chapter offers programming that provides a forum in which government, association, and industry leaders can meet to exchange ideas and concepts, discuss current problems and solutions, and identify future requirements in all technical disciplines.  The AFCEA DC community encourages and enhances open dialogue essential to national and international cooperation and security. 

AFCEA DC believes that STEM Education (Science, Technology, Engineering & Math) is an issue of National Security.  Thus, we donate proceeds from our operations to one of the most robust scholarship & STEM Education programs in the country.  AFCEA DC has awarded college scholarships for nearly 25 years, and proudly supports McKinley Technology High School - the STEM designated school for the Public School System of the Nation's Capital. For additional information on AFCEA DC's programs and activities, visit

CONTACT: 202-486-0321,