American College of Education Offers Scholarships to Outstanding Students in Honor of All-Star Board of Trustees

Online graduate school for educators provides further funding opportunities for affordable Master's of Education degrees

Aug 27, 2012, 09:00 ET from American College of Education

INDIANAPOLIS, Aug. 27, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- American College of Education, one of the world's leading providers of online advanced degree programs for educators, announced today the availability of its Board of Trustees Scholarship Program. This new program provides prospective students with scholarships developed in honor of American College of Education's seven Board of Trustee members.

Members of the Board of Trustees at American College of Education include prominent leaders and some of the most respected names in the field of education with each scholarship reflecting various board members' passions and interests. Through this program, American College of Education aims to provide even more teachers with access to affordable graduate education to improve their skills as educators.

"The development of this scholarship program is a reinforcement of our belief that all classroom teachers and administrative leaders deserve the right to attend graduate school and become better educators," said Sandra Doran, President, American College of Education. "By recruiting outstanding students with this opportunity, we are taking steps toward elevating the standard of education in the modern classroom."

Prospective students can apply online each term at for any of the seven scholarships, each with a specific focus in terms of educational or future career interest. With the new program, one $500 scholarship per member will be awarded each year, with the amount prorated over the duration of recipient's program.

The seven scholarships that make up the Board of Trustees Scholarship Program are:

  • The Craycraft Scholarship, developed in honor of Dr. Ken Craycraft, board chairman and former Chief Academic Officer/Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Texas State University System, is awarded to a financially need-based student that demonstrates a strong record of volunteerism.  
  • The McAdams Scholarship, named for Dr. Don McAdams, Board Vice Chairperson and President of the Center for Reform of School Systems, is an academically based award for a student interested in transforming the education system through a role in administration.
  • The Haywood Scholarship, bestowed in honor of Admiral Thomas B. Hayward, U.S. Navy and the U.S. Joint Chiefs of Staff, retired, is based on demonstrating honor, courage and commitment and is awarded to an individual who is serving or has served in the military.
  • The Jewell-Sherman Scholarship, given in honor of Dr. Deborah Jewell-Sherman, Harvard University Graduate School of Education, is designated for a student within a large, urban, multicultural school system that has demonstrated leadership.
  • The Moses Scholarship, named for Dr. Mike Moses, Former Commissioner of Education for the State of Texas, is awarded to a Texas-based student with financial aid needs.
  • The Paige Scholarship, namesake of Dr. Rob Paige, former Secretary of Education for the U.S. Department of Education, is designated for an inner-city teacher that has demonstrated commitment to transforming the student experience.
  • The Peterkin Scholarship, bestowed in honor of Dr. Bob Peterkin of Harvard Graduate School of Education, is awarded to an urban student who wants to transform education by pursuing a degree geared toward leadership.

About American College of Education

The mission of American College of Education is to deliver affordable, online degree programs that provide evidence-based content and relevant experiences to improve educators' knowledge, skills and performance.  At American College of Education, students don't just earn a degree – they receive immediate and tangible instruction on how to improve their classrooms and their schools.  American College of Education is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission and is a member of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (HLC/NCA).  For more information, visit

Media Contact:
Kristin Kelly
Ketchum for American College of Education

SOURCE American College of Education