ANSI Board Names Volunteer Leaders for 2011

Dec 06, 2010, 11:43 ET from American National Standards Institute

NEW YORK, Dec. 6, 2010 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Board of Directors has announced its new members and officers for the term beginning January 1, 2011.

Arthur E. Cote, P.E., supported by the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), was re-appointed for a third and final one-year term as ANSI's chairman of the Board.

Supporting the chairman will be four vice chairs: Sharon K. Stanford, director, standards administration at the American Dental Association, will serve her first term as vice chair. Belinda Collins, Ph.D., director, technology services for the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) was re-elected for a second and final two-year term. Laura E. Hitchcock, corporate project manager, external standards for the Boeing Company, and James A. Thomas, president, ASTM International, continue in their respective positions. Robert W. Noth continues to serve as immediate past chairman.

The following individuals have been elected to the Board as Directors-at-Large for terms beginning January 1, 2011:

  • William Berger, managing director, standards, American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
  • Keith Bird, senior policy fellow for workforce and postsecondary education, Corporation for a Skilled Workforce
  • Patrick B. Davis, program manager, Vehicle Technologies Program Office, U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)
  • Carol Herman, director, standards management staff, Center for Devices and Radiological Health (CDRH) Standards Program, U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
  • Kevan Lawlor, president and CEO, NSF International
  • Mary Logan, president, Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI)
  • James E. Matthews, director, technical standards and standards policy, Corning Incorporated
  • Alexander McMillan, director, global standards and trade, Rockwell Automation
  • Susan Miller, president and CEO, Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions, Inc. (ATIS)
  • William Raisch, executive director, InterCEP, New York University
  • Claire Ramspeck, director of technology, American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers  (ASHRAE)
  • Paris Stavrianidis, general manager, FM Approvals, LLC
  • James Turner, senior counsel and director of energy programs, Association of Public and Land Grant Universities (A-P-L-U)
  • Donald Wright, director of standards, Lexmark International

In addition, the following Board members will serve as the Member Forum chairs: Kathleen Thuner (Consumer Interest Forum), Roberta Nelson Shea (Company Member Forum), Greg Saunders (Government Member Forum), and Fred Hayes (Organizational Member Forum).

Individuals retiring from the Board at the end of 2010 include:  

  • Colin B. Church, voluntary standards and international activities coordinator, Consumer Product Safety Commission
  • Donald R. Deutsch, vice president, standards strategy and architecture, Oracle
  • Bruce A. Harding, professor of mechanical engineering technology, Purdue University
  • Barbara L. Nichols, chief executive officer, CGFNS International
  • Ronald Silletti, corporate program director of standards, IBM Corporation

Each of the retiring members was recognized for his past service to the Institute.

The members and staff of the ANSI Federation express their gratitude and thanks to all of these individuals for their many contributions and efforts in support of the Institute and the U.S. voluntary consensus standardization and conformity assessment community.

About ANSI

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is a private non-profit organization whose mission is to enhance U.S. global competitiveness and the American quality of life by promoting, facilitating, and safeguarding the integrity of the voluntary standardization and conformity assessment system. Its membership is comprised of businesses, professional societies and trade associations, standards developers, government agencies, and consumer and labor organizations. The Institute represents the diverse interests of more than 125,000 companies and organizations and 3.5 million professionals worldwide.  

The Institute is the official U.S. representative to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and, via the U.S. National Committee, the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), and is a U.S. representative to the International Accreditation Forum (IAF).

SOURCE American National Standards Institute