Artists Attending AFI Awards 2013 Contribute To The Ongoing Almanac By Answering A Key Question About Their Honored Work: "What Do You Want Audiences To Remember About Your Film Or TV Program?"

Jan 15, 2014, 09:00 ET from American Film Institute

LOS ANGELES, Jan. 15, 2014 /PRNewswire/ --


Exclusive videos of the American Film Institute's AFI Awards 2013 honorees are posted on the first-ever video almanac page of Filmed at the January 10, 2014 luncheon, 20 short videos feature 56 actors, creators, directors, editors, producers, showrunners and writers representing the officially-selected film and television programs. Each artist answered a single question: 

"What do you want audiences to remember about your film or television program?"


Artist comments are recorded onto the American Film Institute almanac, preserving our nation's cultural heritage by providing additional, first-hand context for the year's honored works. Artists contributed to the ongoing online chronicle addressing various storytelling disciplines, including: acting, directing, writing, and producing. These artists and their comments celebrate the year in the moving image arts.


Paul Dano, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Steve McQueen and Lupita Nyong'o (12 YEARS A SLAVE), Amy Adams, Jay Cassidy, Bradley Cooper, Jonathan Gordon, Charles Roven, David O. Russell, Eric Singer and Richard Suckle (AMERICAN HUSTLE), Barkhad Abdi, Paul Greengrass and Tom Hanks (CAPTAIN PHILLIPS), Ryan Coogler, Melonie Diaz, Michael B. Jordan and Octavia Spencer (FRUITVALE STATION), Sandra Bullock, Alfonso Cuarón, Mark Sanger and Tim Webber (GRAVITY), Amy Adams (HER), Garrett Hedlund and Oscar Isaac (INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS), Bruce Dern, Will Forte, Alexander Payne and June Squibb (NEBRASKA), John Lee Hancock, Tom Hanks, Richard M. Sherman and Emma Thompson (SAVING MR. BANKS), Emma Tillinger Koskoff and Irwin Winkler (THE WOLF OF WALL STREET), Joel Fields, Steven Spielberg and Joe Weisberg (THE AMERICANS), Bryan Cranston, Vince Gilligan and Aaron Paul (BREAKING BAD), Emilia Clarke, Kit Harington and Maisie Williams (GAME OF THRONES), Robert King (THE GOOD WIFE), Kevin Spacey, Corey Stoll and Beau Willimon (HOUSE OF CARDS), Jon Hamm, Elisabeth Moss and Mathew Weiner (MAD MEN), Michelle Ashford, Lizzy Caplan and Caitlin FitzGerald (MASTERS OF SEX), Jason Biggs and Jenji Kohan (ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK), Betsy Beers, Tony Goldwyn, Joshua Malina, Shonda Rhimes and Bellamy Young (SCANDAL), Anna Chlumsky, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Tony Hale, Armanda Iannucci, Reid Scott, and Timothy Simons (VEEP).



The online almanac can be viewed here beginning Tuesday, January 14 at 3:30 p.m. PST


Favored by artists and entertainment executives for its collaborative recognition, AFI AWARDS is the only national program that honors the community's creative ensembles as a whole. The official AFI selections serve as a definitive guide to outstanding achievements in the American art form for audiences worldwide.
Additional information about AFI AWARDS is available at

SOURCE American Film Institute