Barr, Moses, Presley Invited to Payton Award Announcement

Dec 01, 2010, 11:52 ET from The Sports Network

PHILADELPHIA, Dec. 1, 2010 /PRNewswire/ -- Three outstanding quarterbacks who hope to cap their seasons in the NCAA Division I Championship Game next month already know they will make the trip to Frisco, Texas, for the announcement of the Walter Payton Award.

Matt Barr of Western Illinois, Jeremy Moses of Stephen F. Austin and DeAndre Presley of Appalachian State have been invited to the 24th Annual Football Championship Subdivision Awards Presentation on Thursday, January 6. The Sports Network presents and sponsors the Walter Payton Award that is bestowed on the outstanding player in the FCS.

Barr, a 6-foot-2, 210-pound senior, is the Missouri Valley Football Conference's offensive player of the year. He has completed 216-of-358 pass attempts (60.3 percent) for 3,312 yards and 26 touchdowns against only seven interceptions, and ranks second in the FCS in passing efficiency rating (158.10), fifth in total offense (313.7 yards per game) and sixth in passing (276 yards per game). He has rushed for 452 yards and seven touchdowns.

Moses, a 6-0, 195-pound senior led Stephen F. Austin to the Southland Conference title. The conference's two-time player of the year ranks first in the FCS in completions (303), attempts (499), touchdown passes (34) and passing yards (3,658). He has thrown only four interceptions while racking up 325.6 yards of total offense per game, which ranks third nationally. His passing efficiency rating of 143.18 ranks 17th.

Presley, a 5-11, 170-pound junior, led Appalachian State to a share of its sixth straight Southern Conference title and the No. 1 seed in the FCS playoffs. The SoCon offensive player of the year is a dual-threat quarterback who ranks ninth nationally in passing efficiency rating (148.26) and 13th in total offense (270.55 ypg). He has completed 177-of-280 pass attempts (63.2 percent) for 2,223 yards and 18 touchdowns against only four interceptions, and rushed for 753 yards and 11 touchdowns.

The Payton Award was voted on by a national panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries. Other finalists were quarterbacks Mike Brown of Liberty, Pat Devlin of Delaware, Denarius McGhee of Montana State, Scott Riddle of Elon, Casey Therriault of Jackson State, Steve Valentino of Dayton and Chris Whitney of Villanova; running backs Nate Eachus of Colgate, Chris Evans of Samford, Henry Harris of Southeast Missouri State, Taiwan Jones of Eastern Washington, Kyle Minett of South Dakota State, Chase Reynolds of Montana and Frank Warren of Grambling State; wide receiver Tysson Poots of Southern Utah and Raymond Webber of Arkansas-Pine Bluff; and offensive tackle Ben Ijalana of Villanova.

About The Sports Network

The Sports Network (, North America's foremost international real-time sports wire service, furnishes a wide range of content on a 24/7 basis utilizing state-of-the-art technology that sets the tone and standard for the entire industry. From statistics to news, weather and injury reports to instant scores, branded product and gamecasts to photography and complete fantasy coverage data, domestic or world-wide, radio or TV, print or Internet, mobile to signage, TSN leads the way.

About Fathead

Fathead is the leading brand in sports and entertainment graphic products. Fathead products give fans the opportunity to bring their favorite passion or inspiration to life. Fathead products include Fathead Customs, Fathead Jr., Fathead Tradeables, Fathead Skins, and Fathead's flagship "Real Big:" the officially licensed life-size, hi-def wall graphics of professional athletes, animated heroes, entertainment characters, team helmets and logos. Fathead maintains license agreements with leading consumer brands across many industries and professional sports leagues. For more information, visit

SOURCE The Sports Network