Best Energy Web Site of 2012 to be Named by Web Marketing Association in 16th Annual WebAward Competition

Apr 24, 2012, 09:35 ET from Web Marketing Association

WEST SIMSBURY, Conn., April 24, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- The Web Marketing Association announces the call for entries for its 16th annual international WebAward Competition for Web site development at The WebAwards are the standards-defining competition that sets benchmarks for 96 industries, including energy websites, based on the seven criteria of a successful web site. The deadline for energy websites to enter to be judged is May 31, 2012.

(Logo: )

"The energy industry is very competitive when it comes to Web development and companies can benefit from the independent evaluation of their online efforts," said William Rice, President of the Web Marketing Association.  "The most effective energy websites are true e-commerce sites designed to build long-term relationships with users and key constituents such as government regulators and shareholders."

Web sites are judged on seven criteria including design, innovation, content, technology, interactivity, copy writing and ease of use. Each WebAward entry is judged against other entries in its industry category and then against an overall standard of excellence.

All entrants benefit from receiving valuable feedback in terms of their specific scores compared against the average scores for their industry. They also may receive specific comments from the WebAwards' professional judging panel on their Web site development efforts.

Winners of a WebAward in the energy category will also receive: 

  • Handsome statue or certificate of achievement 
  • Increased visibility for their company
  • Marketing opportunity to promote the company website to the media 
  • Links to your site from the highly ranked WebAward site to help SEO 
  • A highlight for your resume 
  • Admiration of peers, friends and co-workers

Each year the Web Marketing Association names the Best Energy Website based on the scores submitted by the competition judges.

Recent winners of the Best Energy Web site include:

2011 – Weber Shandwick Visual Communications for Luminant Power Track
2010 – Savage for Tenaris Corporate Website
2009 – NJI Media Group for Energy Townhall
2008 - B·U·T for DuPont in Energy
2007 – Dell Global Site Design for Dell Earth
2006 – Edison International for Edison International Website
2005 - Macquariam for AGL Resources
2004 - Abengoa Bioenergy for Abengoa Bioenergy Corp
2003 – APS for E-care
2002 – Rhino Internet Solutions for Arizona Public Service

A complete list of past winners and the entry form for companies who wish to compete for 2011 honors can be found at the Best Energy Website page.

The 2012 WebAwards are sponsored by the following leading organizations: BGT Partners, PR Newswire, Burst Media, MycroBurst, EContent Magazine, ExactTarget, ad:tech conferences, Internet World UK, SES Conferences, Webmaster Radio, and Website Magazine. The Web Marketing Association thanks these companies for their commitment to the entire online marketing community.

About the WebAwards

The Web Marketing Association was founded in 1997 to help define the standard of excellence for online marketing. Our internationally known award programs, such as WebAward Competition for Website Development, Internet Advertising Competition and the new MobileWebAwards, recognize the people and organizations responsible for developing the most effective online marketing programs on the Internet today.  Entrants benefit from assessment of their marketing efforts by a professional judging panel and the marketing opportunities presented by being recognized as an award-winning web developer.

SOURCE Web Marketing Association