Carnegie Medals Awarded to 21 for Extraordinary Acts of Civilian Heroism

Dec 22, 2010, 08:00 ET from Carnegie Hero Fund Commission

PITTSBURGH, Dec. 22, 2010 /PRNewswire/ -- In its fourth and final award announcement of 2010, the Carnegie Hero Fund Commission today named 21 individuals from throughout the United States and Canada as recipients of the CARNEGIE MEDAL.  The medal is given to those who risk their lives to an extraordinary degree while saving or attempting to save the lives of others.  

The heroes announced today bring to 85 the number of awards made in 2010 and to 9,412 the total number of awards since the Pittsburgh-based Fund's inception in 1904.  Commission President Mark Laskow stated that each of the awardees or their next of kin will also receive a financial grant.  Throughout the 106 years since the Fund was established by industrialist-philanthropist Andrew Carnegie, $32.9 million has been given in one-time grants, scholarship aid, death benefits, and continuing assistance.  

The latest awardees are:

Keith B. Havens

Albion, Mich.

Zachary Prince Havens

Albion, Mich.

Zane W. Havens

Albion, Mich.

Mark J. Pierce

Morristown, Tenn.

Donald Ericson

The Woodlands, Texas

Trevor Jordan Tally, deceased

La Grande, Ore.

Julie Fitzpatrick

Lighthouse Point, Fla.

Gheorghita Rusu

Ottawa, Ont.

David A. Benke

Littleton, Colo.

Michael V. Sharpe

Spruce Grove, Alta.

Larry G. Darrohn, Jr., deceased

Jim Thorpe, Pa.

Steven Bradley Estes

Hartselle, Ala.

Gerald Piacente

Red Hook, N.Y.

Jose Higareda, deceased

Norwalk, Conn.

Eula Lee Harward, deceased

Ocala, Fla.

Christopher Alan Sturgeon

Topeka, Kan.

Victor Oxford

Corona, Calif.

Brian W. Coblentz

Germantown, Tenn.

Joseph M. Healey

Bullhead City, Ariz.

Scott Matthew Bligh

El Cajon, Calif.

Gary A. Kneeshaw

El Cajon, Calif.

Resumes of the acts can be found at  Fuller information on the CARNEGIE MEDAL and the history of the CARNEGIE HERO FUND COMMISSION can be found at

Contact: Douglas R. Chambers

Toll free:  1-800-447-8900

SOURCE Carnegie Hero Fund Commission