Carnegie Medals Awarded to 23 For Extraordinary Acts of Civilian Heroism

Jun 24, 2010, 08:30 ET from Carnegie Hero Fund Commission

PITTSBURGH, June 24 /PRNewswire/ -- In its second award announcement of 2010, the Carnegie Hero Fund Commission today named 23 individuals from throughout the United States and Canada as recipients of the Carnegie Medal.  The medal is given to those who risk their lives to an extraordinary degree while saving or attempting to save the lives of others, the "heroes of civilization" in the words of Andrew Carnegie, Hero Fund founder.  Three of the awardees lost their lives in the performance of their heroic acts.

The heroes announced today bring to 45 the number of awards made in 2010 and to 9,372 the total number of awards since the Pittsburgh-based Fund's inception in 1904.  Commission President Mark Laskow stated that each of the awardees or their next of kin will also receive a financial grant.  Throughout the 106 years since the Fund was established, $32.4 million has been given in one-time grants, scholarship aid, death benefits, and continuing assistance.  The awardees are:

Timothy Lucas Gibson

Cape Coral, Fla.

Edward Russell Nye

Mechanicsville, Va.

Michael Rangus

Mechanicsville, Va.

Akasha Witchey Traver

Lexington, Va.

Gary DeWayne Vinson, Jr., deceased

Sylvester, Ga.

Willard Van Fleet, deceased

Factoryville, Pa.

Mark W. Keene, deceased

Dalton, Pa.

Edward Jay Fillingham

Henderson, N.Y.

Jared J. Champayne

Chicago, Ill.

Jeremy S. Cobb

Muskegon, Mich.

Chad J. Tolstedt

Monroe, Mich.

Paul M. Marks

Monroe, Mich.

Larry Brian Jordan

Poland, Maine

Keith E. Melton

Troy, Ill.

Terry L. Bullard

Worden, Ill.

Alexander G. Glass

Newport, N.C.

Branden L. Bonge

Valley Mills, Texas

Cody L. Clemmons

Crawford, Texas

Nickolas J. Edwards

Salem, Ore.

Cameron T. Andersen

Mill Valley. Calif.

Gregory R. Thomson

Corte Madera, Calif.

Donald Arthur Morrison

Dutch Valley, N.B.

Donald George Gough

Summerland, B.C.

Summaries of the heroic acts can be found at Fuller information on the Carnegie Medal and the history of the Carnegie Hero Fund Commission can be found at

Contact: Douglas R. Chambers,

Toll Free: 1-800-447-8900

SOURCE Carnegie Hero Fund Commission