Chairman Devaney Wins Prestigious Scantlebury Management Award

May 05, 2011, 15:32 ET from Recovery Accountability and Transparency Board

WASHINGTON, May 5, 2011 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Earl E. Devaney, the Chairman of the Recovery Accountability and Transparency Board, is a recipient of the prestigious 2010 Donald L. Scantlebury Memorial Award for excellence in financial management. Devaney was selected for the honor along with Steve Isakowitz, the Chief Financial Officer for the Department of Energy.


The award will be presented on Monday, May 9, at a federal financial conference sponsored by the Joint Financial Management Improvement Program (JFMIP) in Washington.

The JFMIP is a cooperative undertaking of the Department of the Treasury, the Government Accountability Office (GAO), the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), and the Office of Personnel Management (OPM).  Its principals are the Secretary of the Treasury, the Comptroller General of the U.S., and the Directors of OMB and OPM.

Since 1971, the JFMIP principals have sponsored an annual award program designed to recognize excellence in financial management. The award was named in honor of the late Donald L. Scantlebury, the GAO's Chief Accountant.

Devaney has a distinguished 41-year government career, beginning with the Secret Service in 1970. He  served as Director of the Office of Criminal Enforcement, Forensics and Training in the Environmental Protection Agency before becoming the Inspector General of the Department of the Interior in 1999. In February 2009, President Obama selected him Chairman of the 13-member Recovery Board.

Devaney took on the daunting assignment and guided the Board's effort to build and for collecting and displaying spending data from recipients of Recovery Act contracts, grants and loans. Under his leadership, the Board also created the Recovery Operations Center, which serves as the foundation of the Board's oversight efforts. Both projects were completed in time for the first reporting period in October 2009.

Connect with us on Twitter, Facebook, and YouTube.

SOURCE Recovery Accountability and Transparency Board