Champion® Spokesperson Kevin Harvick Announces Finalists in $100,000 'Search for a Champion' Contest

Consumers Can Help Select $50,000 Grand Prize Winner at

Feb 23, 2012, 09:00 ET from Federal-Mogul Corporation

SOUTHFIELD, Mich., Feb. 23, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- Five talented grassroots-level racers representing several different forms of engine-driven competition have been selected as finalists in the "Search for a Champion" racing sponsorship contest from Federal-Mogul's (NASDAQ: FDML) iconic Champion® brand of spark plugs, filters, wiper blades and performance chemical additives.

The contest finalists – announced this morning at Daytona (Fla.) International Speedway by NASCAR® Sprint Cup driver and Champion spokesperson Kevin Harvick – will each receive a $10,000 (USD) Champion racing sponsorship for the 2012 season. Selected from more than 330 contest entrants, the finalists will now compete for the $50,000 (USD) grand prize sponsorship, which will be selected in part by consumer voting on the website. Any consumer can register, view the finalists' video entries and vote for their favorite videos from February 27 through March 25. Harvick will announce the grand prize winner on April 2.

The finalists in the "Search for a Champion" contest are:




The Michalek Brothers, Louisville, Ohio


NHRA Super Comp Drag Racer




Chad Crawford, Warrenton, Mo.


Semi-Pro Motorcross/Supercross




Kyle Sacket, Gilmanton Iron Works, N.H.


Semi-Pro Snocross




Jim Cebulski, Channahon, Ill.


Pro Jet Ski



"Everything Else"

Erik Miller, Cumberland, Md.


Ultra4 Off-Road Endurance

"We had an incredible response from racers ranging from 13 to over 60 years old, with each clearly sharing the same performance-driven passion that has helped make Champion one of the world's most popular brands in the racing and street performance markets," said Harvick. "Our ultimate goal through this contest is to provide the spark these talented and very dedicated racers need to become the dominant competitors in each of their series throughout 2012."

In addition to the five finalists, Champion and Harvick selected 10 honorable mention recipients, each of whom will receive a Go Pro HD Hero2 Motorsports Edition camera and other prizes. These racers are:

Corey Andersen, Mullica, N.J. Mike DePalma, Boulder, Colo. Alec Gaut, Pittsburg, Kan. Molly Helmuth, Seattle, Wash. Teddy Hodgdon, Danbury, Conn. Bryan Jackson, Eastland, Texas Brian Olantunji, Detroit, Mich. Chris Parisi, Jacksonville, Fla. Donnie Steward, Burlington, Iowa Jesse Warner, North Manchester, Ind.

The Champion brand and iconic bow tie logo can be seen in virtually every form of racing worldwide. It now represents a broad portfolio of advanced products, including globally respected Champion spark plugs; Champion oil, air and cabin air filters; Champion wiper blades; and Champion performance additives for the automotive and lawn and garden markets.

For additional information about the contest and "Performance Driven™" Champion products, please visit

About Federal-Mogul

Federal-Mogul Corporation is a leading global supplier of powertrain and safety solutions to the world's foremost original equipment manufacturers of automotive, commercial, aerospace, marine, rail and off-road vehicles; industrial, agricultural and power generation equipment; as well as the worldwide aftermarket. Federal-Mogul's leading technology and innovation, lean manufacturing expertise, and global distribution network deliver world-class products, brands and services at a competitive cost. The company's sustainable global profitable growth strategy creates value for its employees, customers and shareholders. Federal-Mogul was founded in Detroit in 1899. The company is headquartered in Southfield, Michigan, and employs approximately 45,000 people in 35 countries.

Federal-Mogul's aftermarket products are sold under a variety of well-known brands, including: Abex®, AE®, ANCO®, Beral®, Carter®, Champion®, FP Diesel®, Fel-Pro®, Ferodo®, Glyco®, Goetze®, MOOG®, National®, Necto®, Nural®, Payen®, Precision®, Sealed Power®, Speed-Pro® and Wagner®. All Federal-Mogul trademarks are owned by Federal-Mogul Corporation, or one or more of its subsidiaries, in one or more countries. Visit the company's website at


Drew Shippy 330/688-3500


Jim Burke 248/354-4530


SOURCE Federal-Mogul Corporation