City Colleges of Chicago Marks 100 Years of Transforming Lives through Quality, Affordable Education

Mayor Emanuel Celebrates City Colleges' Centennial with Chancellor Hyman & Washburne Culinary Institute Students

Sep 13, 2011, 21:05 ET from City Colleges of Chicago

CHICAGO, Sept. 13, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- Mayor Rahm Emanuel joined Chancellor Cheryl L. Hyman and students from the Washburne Culinary Institute to mark City Colleges of Chicago's Centennial anniversary Monday, as the group sampled a three-tiered cake prepared by the students from the widely-regarded culinary institute, part of the City Colleges.

"For a century, City Colleges has served as a gateway for Chicagoans striving to reach their education and career goals," said Mayor Rahm Emanuel.  "I am committed to working with the City Colleges to prepare Chicagoans for the jobs of the future to ensure our City remains strong and competitive in the global economy."

The City Colleges was founded as Crane Junior College on September 11, 1911 with just 30 students.  Since then, the City Colleges of Chicago has grown to become the largest community college system in Illinois and one of the largest in the nation, with 5,800 faculty and staff serving 120,000 students at seven campuses and thirteen satellite sites city-wide.

"City Colleges has improved the lives of more than one million alumni in our one hundred year history, and we are building upon this legacy to ensure our students receive an education that works for generations to come," said Chancellor Cheryl L. Hyman.

"With the support of our Mayor, Chicago's civic leaders, and a community of students, faculty and staff who share a common commitment to our students' success we will realize City Colleges' potential to serve as the economic engine of Chicago," said Chairman of the City Colleges Board Martin Cabrera, Jr.

The City Colleges of Chicago is in the midst of a Reinvention, a collaborative effort to review and revise CCC programs and practices to drive greater degree attainment, job placement and career advancement.  To learn more about the Reinvention effort, go to

More about City Colleges of Chicago

The City Colleges of Chicago includes seven colleges:  Richard J. Daley College, Kennedy-King College, Malcolm X College, Olive-Harvey College, Harry S Truman College, Harold Washington College and Wilbur Wright College. The system also oversees the Washburne Culinary Institute, the French Pastry School, two restaurants, five Child Development Centers, the Center for Distance Learning, the Workforce Institute, the public broadcast station WYCC-TV Channel 20 and radio station WKKC-FM 89.3FM.  For more information about City Colleges of Chicago, call:  (773) COLLEGE or visit

SOURCE City Colleges of Chicago