Claire Pomeroy Named Board Chair Of The Association Of Academic Health Centers

Sep 24, 2012, 10:23 ET from Association of Academic Health Centers

WASHINGTON, Sept. 24, 2012 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Claire Pomeroy, MD, MBA, chief executive officer, UC Davis Health System, vice chancellor for human health sciences, and dean of the School of Medicine at the University of California, Davis, was elected chair of the board of directors of the Association of Academic Health Centers (AAHC) at its annual meeting held September 19-21 in San Francisco, California. An expert in infectious diseases and a professor of internal medicine and microbiology and immunology, Dr. Pomeroy oversees the UC Davis Health System and all of its academic, research, and clinical programs, including the School of Medicine.

"Dr. Pomeroy is a visionary and dynamic leader who deeply understands the challenges and opportunities facing academic health centers," noted Dr. Steven A. Wartman, AAHC President and CEO.  "I very much look forward to working with her and the AAHC Board in this critical time as we work to advance knowledge to improve health and well-being."

As part of her special interest in healthcare policy and as an advocate for the social determinants of health, Dr. Pomeroy founded the Center for Reducing Health Disparities, established the Institute for Population Health Improvement, and led the establishment of Rural-PRIME, a program designed to prepare physicians to practice in underserved rural communities. A member of the Institute of Medicine, Dr. Pomeroy serves on NIH's Advisory Committee on Research on Women's Health, as well as many other professional committees and boards, and has authored numerous publications.

Harold L. Paz, MD, MS, chief executive officer, Penn State Hershey Medical Center and Health System, Penn State's senior vice president for health affairs, and dean of Penn State College of Medicine, was elected to the position of chair-elect of the AAHC Board. An expert in critical care clinical outcomes, health system design, and healthcare policy, Dr. Paz oversees the academic, research, and clinical missions of Penn State Hershey Medical Center and Health System and College of Medicine where he is professor of internal medicine and public health sciences.  During his tenure at Penn State Hershey, Dr. Paz initiated a major expansion of the Medical Center and the formation of the Penn State Hershey Health System, which includes four hospitals, 58 ambulatory care practices, and 17 affiliated hospitals. Serving on numerous national professional boards and the recipient of many awards, including the Sir William Osler Humanitarian Award from the American Lung Association of New Jersey, Dr. Paz remains clinically active with a special interest in patients with sarcoidosis.

Newly elected to the board for three-year terms are: Jay Gershen, DDS, PhD, president, Northeast Ohio Medical University; Lilly Marks, vice president for health affairs, executive vice chancellor, Anschutz Medical Campus, University of Colorado, Denver; and Jean E. Robillard, MD, vice president for medical affairs, The University of Iowa. Elected for a one-year term is Robert J. Alpern, MD, dean, School of Medicine, Yale University.

The AAHC is a non-profit association dedicated to advancing the nation's health and well-being through the vigorous leadership of academic health centers.

SOURCE Association of Academic Health Centers