Community Colleges to Receive First Green Genome Awards

Sep 20, 2012, 12:00 ET from American Association of Community Colleges

More than $65,000 in awards to colleges driving green institutional transformation

WASHINGTON, Sept. 20, 2012 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ --  American Association of Community Colleges' Sustainability Education and Economic Development (AACC SEED) will present the inaugural Green Genome Awards to five exemplary community colleges and will release a new Green Genome Report, The Community College Green Genome Framework: Integrating Sustainability and Clean Technology Programs into the Institution's DNA. This report unveils a new national framework to help community colleges expand their local green economies. Download report here

Where and when:
October 3, 2012 - 8:00 a.m.
Regional community college summit, Building Sustainable Industry-College Partnerships
Gateway Technical College Conference Center, Racine Wisconsin

Winning colleges include:

  • Butte College, Butte, California
  • Central Carolina Community College, Sanford, North Carolina
  • Delta College, University Center, Michigan
  • Hillsborough Community College, Plant City, Florida
  • West Virginia University, Parkersburg

Each awardee will receive $8,000 plus a set of state-of-the-art Bahco brand Snap-on tools and horticulture equipment. The awards are sponsored by Snap-on.

Spokespeople available for comment:

Todd Cohen, Director, AACC SEED Center
Bryan Albrecht, President, Gateway Technical College, Chair AACC SEED Sustainability Task Force
Mimi Riley, Instructor, Butte College, California
Karen Allen, Chancellor, Central Carolina Community College, North Carolina
Linda Petee, Sustainability & Risk Management Coordinator, Delta College, University Center, Michigan
Ginger Clark, Director, Technical Programs, Hillsborough Community College, Florida 
Gary Thompson, Instructor, West Virginia University, Parkersburg 

In addition to sponsor Snap on, the event will include representatives from Chevron, Siemens, Trane, Home Depot and Dow Chemical.

SOURCE American Association of Community Colleges