Community Financial Scholarship Winners Honored

May 02, 2012, 08:54 ET from Community Financial Credit Union

PLYMOUTH, Mich., May 2, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- Community Financial Credit Union announced today that 14 students have received scholarships through the Community Financial Scholarship Fund.

Each year, in collaboration with the Community Foundation of Plymouth (CFP) and the Ann Arbor Area Community Foundation (AAACF), Community Financial awards scholarships to students who epitomize its "People Helping People" philosophy.  Two annual scholarships are named in honor of Margaret Dunning, a 23-year volunteer on the board of directors; George Lawton, the general manager for 29 years; in addition, this year a scholarship was awarded to honor Phil Curtiss, who spent 12 years on the board of directors. 

This year's Dunning Scholarship winners are: Edward Clifton (Northville High School); Austin Covert (Salem High School); James Maciag (Plymouth High School); Anjali Martin (Salem); Natalie Morello (Ladywood); Travis Vincent (Calvin College); and, Tyler Winningham (Canton High School).

This year's Lawton Scholarship winners are: Elise Huber (Johannesburg-Lewiston High School); Bradley Mueller (Divine Child); Rachel Sullivan (Father Gabriel Richard); and, Amy Sun (Detroit Country Day).  Alexander Dombrowski (Gaylord High School) was awarded the Curtiss Scholarship. Community Financial also awards a scholarship for employees and children of employees.  Kelly Kerwin (Salem) and Kathryn Hosey (Central Michigan University) were the 2012 Community Financial Children of Employees' Scholarship winners.

"Education is vital to the success of any community, and we're proud to help these young people continue theirs," said Bill Lawton, Community Financial president/CEO.

To keep connected and up-to-date on financial news, information, and community involvement, "like" Community Financial on Facebook at or Twitter at

About Community Financial Credit Union
Headquartered in Plymouth, Michigan, membership in Community Financial Credit Union is open to anyone who lives, works, worships, volunteers, or attends school in the Michigan cities, townships or counties of Plymouth, Canton, Northville, Novi, Alpena, Otsego and Montmorency.  With more than 48,000 members, Community Financial provides financial services to members at eight branch locations and through a variety of automated and online services.  For more information, visit or call (877) 937-2328.

The Community Foundation of Plymouth is an affiliate fund of the Ann Arbor Area Community Foundation, and is dedicated to building a permanent endowment to enrich the quality of life in the greater Plymouth area.  

The Ann Arbor Area Community Foundation works to enrich the quality of life in the region through its knowledgeable leadership, engaged grantmaking and creative partnerships with donors. 

SOURCE Community Financial Credit Union