Denham, Rabun Re-Elected as Officers of Oglethorpe Power

Mar 30, 2011, 15:15 ET from Oglethorpe Power Corporation

ATLANTA, March 30, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- Oglethorpe Power Corporation's Board of Directors has re-elected Benny W. Denham of Sycamore, Ga. as its chairman.  J. Sam L. Rabun of Louisville, Ga. was re-elected as vice chairman.  The elections took place in a Board meeting at the conclusion of Oglethorpe Power's Annual Meeting of Members in Braselton, Ga.  Denham and Rabun will each serve a one-year term as Board officers.  Their terms on the Board of Directors expire in 2013.

Denham, a member of the Irwin Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) Board (Ocilla, Ga.), is an at-large member director of the Oglethorpe Power Board.  Rabun, a member of the Jefferson Energy Cooperative Board (Wrens, Ga.), is a member director of the Oglethorpe Power Board.

The following were elected to three-year terms on the Oglethorpe Power Board during the Annual Meeting:  Bobby Smith of Planters EMC in Millen, Ga., at-large member director; Larry Chadwick of Cobb EMC in Marietta, Ga., member director; Tony Ham of Okefenoke Rural EMC in Nahunta, Ga., member director; Danny Nichols of Colquitt EMC in Moultrie, Ga., manager director; and Randall Pugh of Jackson EMC in Jefferson, Ga., manager director.

Oglethorpe Power Corporation (OPC) is the nation's largest power supply cooperative with nearly $7 billion in assets serving 39 Electric Membership Corporations which, collectively, provide electricity to 4.1 million Georgians.  

A proponent of conscientious energy development and use, OPC balances reliable and affordable energy with environmental responsibility and has an outstanding record of regulatory compliance.  Its diverse energy portfolio includes natural gas, hydroelectric, coal and nuclear generating plants with a combined capacity of approximately 5,828 megawatts (MW), as well as purchased power.

OPC was established in 1974 and is owned by its 39 Member Systems.  It is headquartered in Tucker, Georgia.  For more information, check the web site at

SOURCE Oglethorpe Power Corporation