Disaster Assistance Available for Small Businesses

Sep 22, 2011, 19:01 ET from U.S. Small Business Administration

SACRAMENTO, Calif., Sept. 22, 2011 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Small, nonfarm businesses in the following 14 Oregon counties and one neighboring county in Washington are now eligible to apply for lowinterest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).  "These loans offset economic losses because of reduced revenues caused by freezing temperatures, cool spring temperatures and excessive rain in the primary counties that occurred February 1 through May 31, 2011," announced Alfred E. Judd, Director of SBA's Disaster Field Operations Center-West.

Primary Oregon counties: Wasco and Washington;
Neighboring Oregon counties: Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Gilliam, Hood River, Jefferson, Marion, Multnomah, Sherman, Tillamook, Wheeler and Yamhill;
Neighboring Washington county: Klickitat.

"SBA eligibility covers both the economic impacts on businesses dependent on farmers and ranchers that have suffered agricultural production losses caused by the disaster and businesses directly impacted by the disaster," Judd said.

Small, nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private, nonprofit organizations of any size may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs) of up to $2 million to help meet financial obligations and operating expenses which could have been met had the disaster not occurred.

"Eligibility for these loans is based on the financial impact of the disaster only and not on any actual property damage.  These loans have an interest rate of 4% for businesses and 3% for private, nonprofit organizations, a maximum term of 30 years, and are available to small businesses and most private, nonprofits without the financial ability to offset the adverse impact without hardship," Judd said.

By law, SBA makes EIDLs available when the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture designates an agricultural disaster.  Secretary Tom Vilsack declared this disaster at the request of Governor John Kitzhaber.

Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for SBA disaster assistance.  Agricultural enterprises should contact the Farm Services Agency (FSA) about the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) assistance made available by the Secretary's declaration.  

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA's secure Web site at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela.  

Disaster loan information and application forms are also available from SBA's Customer Service Center by calling SBA toll-free at (800) 659-2955, emailing disastercustomerservice@sba.gov, or visiting SBA's Web site at www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance.  Individuals who are deaf or hard-of-hearing may call (800) 877-8339.  

The deadline to apply for these loans is May 15, 2012.

For more information, visit SBA's Web site at www.sba.gov.  
SBA Field Operations Center - West, P.O. Box 419004, Sacramento, CA 95841

Media Contact:  Richard Jenkins
Phone:  (916) 735-1500

SOURCE U.S. Small Business Administration