Domenici, Hamilton, Meserve, Rowe, and Sharp Named to Administration Panel on Nuclear Waste Issues

Feb 02, 2010, 15:23 ET from Bipartisan Policy Center

WASHINGTON, Feb. 2 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Former Senator Pete V. Domenici, a Senior Fellow with the Bipartisan Policy Center (BPC), has been named by U.S. Energy Secretary Steven Chu to the Blue Ribbon Commission on America's Nuclear Future to "provide recommendations for developing a safe, long-term solution to managing the Nation's used nuclear fuel and nuclear waste."  Former U.S. Representative Lee H. Hamilton, Vice-Chair of the 9/11 Commission and co-chair of the BPC's National Security Preparedness Group, has been named Co-Chair of the Administration's new Blue Ribbon panel.  John W. Rowe, Chairman and CEO of Exelon Corporation, and Co-Chair of the National Commission on Energy Policy (NCEP), and the Honorable Philip R. Sharp, President of Resources for the Future and NCEP Congressional Chair, were also named by the President to the new Commission, as was Richard A. Meserve, an NCEP Commissioner who is President of the Carnegie Institution, and former U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Chairman.  NCEP is a project of the Bipartisan Policy Center.

"Senator Domenici's unmatchable experience on nuclear issues will be of tremendous value to the Administration and the new Blue Ribbon panel, as it has been to the country for decades," said Jason S. Grumet, President of the BPC.  "Lee Hamilton's critical work on national security makes him a perfect Co-Chair for the Administration's new panel.  Likewise, Phil Sharp and John Rowe are recognized as among the most thoughtful and knowledgeable people in the country on these complex issues.  Dick Meserve's leadership of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission and other work makes him uniquely valuable.  In short, the Bipartisan Policy Center has been fortunate in its association with each of these leaders.  We are certain America will continue to benefit from their dedication on these critical topics."

About the Bipartisan Policy Center

In 2007, former U.S. Senate Majority Leaders Howard Baker, Tom Daschle, Bob Dole, and George Mitchell formed the Bipartisan Policy Center (BPC) to develop and promote solutions that can attract the public support and political momentum to achieve real progress. The BPC acts as an incubator for policy efforts that engage top political figures, advocates, academics, and business leaders in the art of principled compromise. For more information please visit our website:

SOURCE Bipartisan Policy Center