Fed's Richard Fisher and Russ Roberts of "Keynes vs. Hayek" Speak Nov. 2 at Bastiat-Hoiles Dinner at Four Seasons Restaurant, New York City

Finalists for Prestigious Bastiat Prize and New Hoiles Prize Named

Sep 29, 2011, 12:31 ET from International Policy Network

NEW YORK, Sept. 29, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- Richard Fisher, president and CEO of the Dallas Federal Reserve, will speak at the tenth annual dinner for the Bastiat Prize at the Four Seasons Restaurant (99 East 52nd Street) in New York on Wednesday, November 2, 2011. In addition, the dinner will feature a presentation by the creator of the Keynes vs. Hayek YouTube video, Professor Russ Roberts of George Mason University. This year a new prize, the R.C. Hoiles Prize for Journalism, will be given for American work.  The prize celebrates courageous journalists who explain the importance of free markets and risks presented by excessive government intervention.  

This will be the tenth anniversary for the Bastiat Prize, established by International Policy Network (http://www.policynetwork.net). This year, thanks to a generous gift from Thomas Smith, the winner will receive $50,000, the second runner-up will receive $15,000 and the third runner-up will receive $5,000. Started in 2002, the Bastiat Prize was inspired by 19th century French philosopher Frederic Bastiat. Bastiat emphasized the quality of argument in putting forward free-market ideas.

The nominated Bastiat finalists are: Thomas Easton (The Economist), Jeff Jacoby (The Boston Globe), Takis Michas (The Wall Street Journal, Cato Institute), Virginia Postrel (The Wall Street Journal, Bloomberg), Salil Tripathi (Mint, The National), and Ivo Vegter (The Daily Maverick).

The Hoiles Prize is an American prize named after the legendary journalist R.C. Hoiles. The winner will receive $10,000, the runner-up will receive $4,000 and the third place, $1,000. Voluntaryist R.C. Hoiles founded the newspaper that was the basis for Freedom Communications. Hoiles sought to ensure that his papers invariably adhered to this Freedom Philosophy while supporting freedoms economic, social and religious.

The seven nominated Hoiles finalists are: Ari Armstrong (Colorado Daily), Sara Burrows (Carolina Journal), Bill Frezza (RealClearMarkets.com), Steven Greenhut (The Orange County Register), Steve Malanga (Manhattan Institute, The Wall Street Journal), Bruce Ramsey (The Seattle Times) and Damon Root (Reason).

Judges for the prizes include Shikha Dalmia, Gurcharan Das, Richard Fisher, Steve Forbes, Chrystia Freeland, Judge Douglas Ginsburg, Wendy Gramm, Robert Guest, Barton Hinkle, Charles Kadlec, Dominic Lawson, James Piereson, Carl Schramm, Amity Shlaes and Cathy Taylor.

SOURCE International Policy Network