Finalists Announced in L. Ron Hubbard's International Contest for Illustrators

Jan 28, 2010, 10:11 ET from Illustrators of the Future

HOLLYWOOD, Calif., Jan. 28 /PRNewswire/ -- In what is known as one of the largest contests of its kind in the world, finalists for the 4th Quarter of the 26th year of the L. Ron Hubbard Illustrators of the Future Contest were announced today by Joni Labaqui, contest Director.

The semi-finalists and finalists for this quarter are from the United States and Kenya, Africa.


Alessandra Briggs of Rhode Island

Nichole Fieger of New York

Lisa Grabenstetter of Maryland

Veronica Liwski of Nevada

Jamie Marcelle of Illinois

William Muchiri Mbuba of Kenya, Africa

Christopher Reach of New Jersey

Jeremy Sickels of Pennsylvania

Matthew Yale of Minnesota

Semi-finalists receive a critique from the coordinating judge of the contest, Ron Lindahn.


April Aldridge of Florida

Aaron Capizzi of California

Alice Jingxuan Hu of Illinois

Steven "Ven" Locklear of Oregon

Nathan Mayfield of Ohio

M.O. Muriel of New York

Noah Norton of Wisconsin

Olivia Pelaez of New Jersey

James F. Smith of Florida

The 9 finalists art is sent to 4 of the contest judges. Of the 9 finalists, 3 will be chosen as winners of the quarter. The 3 winners of each quarter are awarded cash prizes, a week long intensive workshop, an awards ceremony and are also published in the annual L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future. The judging process, once the finalists are determined by the coordinating judge, takes a little over a month.

A Grand Prize winner is announced at the annual awards ceremony and is selected from another panel of judges. All winners from each of the quarters are eligible for the Grand Prize of $5,000.00.

"The Illustrators of the Future Contest is an effective means for aspiring illustrators to make their break in the publishing industry. That's because our winners are judged by professionals," Labaqui said. Well-known contest judges include multiple award winning artists Frank Frazetta, Bob Eggleton, Vincent DiFate, Ron Lindahn, Val Lakey Lindahn, Stephen Hickman, Cliff Nielsen, Stephan Martiniere and Laura Brodian Freas.

For more information about the contest, go to Or call the contest at 323-466-3310.

SOURCE Illustrators of the Future