Four Technology Industry Leaders Appointed to Technology Councils of North America Board of Directors for 2014-15

Influential board supports regional efforts to improve technology workforce and advance economic development

Jul 30, 2014, 10:30 ET from Technology Councils of North America (TECNA)

DOWNERS GROVE, Ill., July 30, 2014 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Continuing its mission to promote public policies and economic issues to advance the technology industry, the Technology Councils of North America (TECNA) today announced four appointments of technology industry leaders to its board of directors for 2014-15.

Skip Newberry, president of the Technology Association of Oregon, will serve as a vice chair of the TECNA board. Newberry had previously been a member of the board of directors.

Joining the TECNA board for the first time as directors are:

  • Avvey Peters, vice president, marketing and communications, Communitech, a hub for the commercialization of innovative technologies in Canada's Waterloo Region;
  • Brooks Raiford, vice president and CEO, North Carolina Technology Association; and
  • Kathie Shields, executive director of Tech Collective, the technology industry association of Rhode Island. Shields will also serve as TECNA's new secretary/treasurer.

"We're pleased to welcome these industry leaders to the TECNA Board of Directors," said Bob Moore, executive director, TECNA. "Their collective leadership abilities and contributions will serve as a blueprint as we further our strategic objectives that benefit the entire technology ecosystem."

The four new appointees join nine other executives on the TECNA Board of Directors.

Steven G. Zylstra, president and CEO of the Arizona Technology Council, continues to serve as chairman of the TECNA board.

Tino Mantella, president and CEO of the Technology Association of Georgia, is chairman emeritus.

Tom Hopcroft, president and chief executive officer, Massachusetts Technology Leadership Council (MassTLC), continues as board vice chair.

Continuing on the board as directors are Julie Huls, president, Austin Technology Council; Jay Larsen, president and founder, Idaho Technology Council; Nicole Martel, CEO, Quebec Technology Association; Richard Nelson, president and CEO, Utah Technology Council; Doug Robertson, president and CEO, Venn Innovation Inc.; and Ryan Weber, president, Technology Council of Greater Kansas City (KCnext).

"Having just completed a very busy and successful year, I look forward to working with our new TECNA directors," said Steven G. Zylstra, president and CEO of the Arizona Technology Council. "We have another ambitious year ahead to support our members who in turn support regional technology economic and workforce development efforts throughout North America."

TECNA's 13-member board uses its influence to promote public policies and economic issues to advance the technology industry. The board also plans peer-to-peer networking events across North America and collects feedback from TECNA members to share with lawmakers.

TECNA serves its members and the industry through its strong peer-to-peer network and its regional initiatives to raise the visibility and viability of the technology industry. TECNA represents more than 50 IT and technology trade organizations who, in turn, represent more than 22,000 technology-related companies in North America.

More information on TECNA can be found at: or @techcouncils on Twitter.

SOURCE Technology Councils of North America (TECNA)