"HATFIELDS & McCOYS" Companion Album From Upcoming History® Original Miniseries Releases Today From Madison Gate Records

Performed by Kevin Costner, Academy® Award Winner and Star of Miniseries, and Modern West

Album Available to Download on the iTunes Store

May 22, 2012, 18:21 ET from Sony Pictures Entertainment

CULVER CITY, Calif., May 22, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- Madison Gate Records, a division of Sony Pictures Entertainment, is proud to announce today's release of "Famous For Killing Each Other: Music From and Inspired by Hatfields & McCoys," available today on the iTunes store and other retailers. The album, written and produced by Kevin Costner and his band Modern West, serves as a companion piece to the original miniseries HATFIELDS & McCOYS and features the single and miniseries theme song, "I Know These Hills." HATFIELDS & McCOYS premieres on The History Channel over Memorial Day weekend and stars the Academy Award winning Costner as "Devil Anse" Hatfield. 

The album is "a musical picture of time and place with original songs and instrumentals that we hope can transport you back in time and perhaps help you feel the excitement I felt while filming this epic story," said Mr. Costner. He also added, "We weren't trying to specifically recreate the music of that era. We wanted to capture the heart and the soul of the families who were torn apart in the Hatfields and McCoys feud. Even though the musical soul of our album is centered in the hills of Appalachia, in the time right after the Civil War, the feelings we tried to portray are universal."

This is the fourth album released by Costner and Modern West, who have been writing and performing together for seven years. Special guests on the album include My Morning Jacket's Carl Broemel and Academy Award nominated composer John Debney.

The album is available on the iTunes Store: http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/famous-for-killing-each-other/id523331217

  • Track list:
  1. Hammer And Guns
  2. How Deep The Water Runs
  3. Late Dobro
  4. I Know These Hills (feat. Sara Beck)
  5. River Runs Red
  6. I Look To No One
  7. Hypnotic Heartbeats
  8. The Old Oak Tree
  9. I Will Lay You Down
  10. Night Riders (John Debney)
  11. Oh, Malley-Mae (Lily Costner & Modern West)
  12. Cold Dark Morning
  13. Intense
  14. Killing Season
  15. Lillie Dreams
  16. Famous For Killing Each Other
  17. Peace In The Valley
  18. Ominous
  19. Devil's A Long Way From Home
  • Running Time: 56 minutes

It's the true American story of a legendary family feud – one that spanned decades and nearly launched a war between Kentucky and West Virginia. HATFIELDS & McCOYS, a new three-part, six-hour scripted miniseries, showcases an all-star cast led by Academy® Award winner Kevin Costner and Golden Globe® nominee Bill Paxton starring as "Devil Anse" Hatfield and Randall McCoy, respectively. The miniseries premieres on May 28, 29 and 30, at 9 p.m. on HISTORY®. HATFIELDS & McCOYS is distributed by Sony Pictures Television.

About Madison Gate Records
Madison Gate Records is the in-house, independent record label of Sony Pictures Entertainment. The label was founded in 2010 to create, distribute and market music and related products from today's top films and television programs.  For more information go to www.facebook.com/MadisonGateRecords.

SOURCE Sony Pictures Entertainment