Indie Rock Artists Reimagine Two Beatles Albums That Forever Altered the Course of Pop Music 50 Years Later

Lost songs of The Beatles are also discovered. An Indie Rock super group comprised of Frank Siragusa, Ken Stringfellow (of The Posies), Roger Manning (of Jellyfish), and Keith Slettedahl (The 88, Ray Davies Band) breathes new life into these virtually unknown gems using similar recording techniques and instruments as The Beatles had.

Dec 02, 2015, 14:10 ET from Reimagine Music

BOSTON, Dec. 2, 2015 /PRNewswire/ -- There has been no band so rapturous nor so crucial as The Beatles. In the mid-1960s, The Beatles released Rubber Soul and Revolver, tight bundles of songs whose impact was immediate. Manifest in each album was a wave of influence, a new set of recording standardsthese albums marked the group's transition from the land of rock into the realm of art, ensuring their ascent into legend.

Photo -

In celebration of the 50th anniversary of two of the most influential albums of all time, independent label Reimagine Music is pleased to present Looking Through You: A 50th Anniversary Tribute to The Beatles' Rubber Soul, Tomorrow Never Knows: A 50th Anniversary Tribute to The Beatles' Revolver, and Frankie Siragusa Plays: Goodbye My Love – Lost Songs of The Beatles Covered and Rediscovered. Reimagine also adds a stunning, imaginary album to the mix: newly rendered recordings of songs that members of The Beatles wrote, yet never released while the group was still working together.

Youth is a cult of sound, a raucous awakening. The '60s saw The Beatles pull pop music into a higher orbit, and Rubber Soul and Revolver mark the brilliant, burning youth of their enormous achievement. These new projects—Looking Through You, Tomorrow Never Knows, and Goodbye My Love—are a testament to the albums' enduring relevance. An impressive roster of today's best indie rock artists have gathered to pay homage to the group by translating the famed verses of Rubber Soul and Revolver into creations of their own.

Looking Through You: A 50th Anniversary Tribute to The Beatles' Rubber Soul boasts the cutting edge of today's music scene: Bombadil, The David Mayfield Parade, Woodpigeon, Cereus Bright, Tyler Lyle, The Blackwater Fever, The Love Language, and others. Tomorrow Never Knows: A 50th Anniversary Tribute to the Beatles' Revolver also features the finest indie rock has to offer: The Owls, Shawn Mullins, Nellie McKay, Headlights, Lost In the Trees, Tapes 'n Tapes and others. As a special treat, famed Beatles engineer Geoff Emerick—who recorded the original Revolver sessions—lovingly records Nellie McKay's inventive new take on "Yellow Submarine" for this project.

Goodbye My Love introduces emerging musical innovator Frankie Siragusa, as he creates a Beatles record from an archive of songs written by members of The Beatles for other artists of the era. "Most of these pieces were never recorded by The Beatles themselves—but what if they had been?" This question drives Siragusa as he performs, records, and mixes each track of the collection. Inspired by the group's creative and innovative studio work, Siragusa's choice of instruments mirrors The Beatles' own. He even goes so far as to steer away from modern 48-plus track recording technology, limiting himself instead to only 4-track recording, as The Beatles themselves had done. He performs the songs alongside Ken Stringfellow (The Posies, R.E.M., Big Star), Roger Joseph Manning, Jr. (Jellyfish, Beck), and Keith Slettedahl (The 88, Ray Davies Band). 

Producer and Reimagine founder Jim Sampas says of these three projects: "Great art is malleable, and these new interpretations are reaffirming and multi-faceted. They allow us to experience the genius of The Beatles' seminal work from a fresh perspective, and this youthful approach will serve to introduce these iconic songs to yet another, younger generation. Then from across the universe comes the icing on the cake—The Lost Songs project. These are Beatles songs that most people have never, ever, heard. The approach that Frankie Siragusa has taken, keeping true to The Beatles' aesthetic and assembling the perfect vocalists for this project, will make this a major discovery the world over."

On sale at iTunes for only $5.99Looking Through You: A 50th Anniversary Tribute to The Beatles' Rubber SoulTomorrow Never Knows: A 50th Anniversary Tribute to The Beatles' RevolverFrankie Siragusa Plays: Goodbye My Love – Lost Songs of The Beatles Covered and Rediscovered

Track Listings:

Looking Through You: A 50th Anniversary Tribute to The Beatles' Rubber Soul

  1. Bombadil "Drive My Car" 
  2. The David Mayfield Parade "Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)" 
  3. So Many Wizards "You Won't See Me" 
  4. The Pride of Erie PA "Nowhere Man" 
  5. Admirals "Think for Yourself" 
  6. Woodpigeon "The Word"
  7. Cereus Bright "Michelle"
  8. Tyler Lyle "What Goes On" 
  9. The Blackwater Fever "Girl" 
  10. Swear and Shake "I'm Looking Through You" 
  11. Blessed Feathers "In My Life" 
  12. The Daydream Club "Wait"
  13. The Love Language "If I Needed Someone" 
  14. Olin & The Moon "Run for Your Life" 
  15. Nemes "Day Tripper"
  16. Kid In The Attic "Girl" 
  17. The Kirkendall Gang "The Word" 

Tomorrow Never Knows: A 50th Anniversary Tribute to The Beatles Revolver 

  1. Jake Mann and the Upper Hand "Tax Man" 
  2. The Owls "Eleanor Rigby
  3. Shawn Mullins "I'm Only Sleeping" 
  4. Glider "Love You To" 
  5. Bjorn Baillie and Simon Baillie "Here, There and Everywhere" 
  6. Nellie McKay "Yellow Submarine" 
  7. Everest "She Said She Said" 
  8. Headlights "Good Day Sunshine" 
  9. Lost In the Trees "And Your Bird Can Sing" 
  10. Tapes 'n' Tapes "For No One" 
  11. Sarah Borges & The Broken Singles "Doctor Robert" 
  12. Jennifer O'Connor "I Want To Tell You" 
  13. Brian Wright "Got To Get You Into My Life" 
  14. The M's "Tomorrow Never Knows"

Frankie Siragusa Plays: Goodbye My Love – Lost Songs of The Beatles Covered and Rediscovered with special guests: Ken Stringfellow(The Posies, R.E.M., Big Star), Roger Joseph Manning, Jr. (Jellyfish, Beck), and Keith Slettedahl(The 88, Ray Davies Band)

  1. Thingumybob
  2. I'm In Love
  3. I'll Be On My Way
  4. Bad To Me
  5. It's For You 
  6. Woman
  7. I'll Keep You Satisfied
  8. Like Dreamers Do
  9. Sour Milk Sea
  10. I Don't Want To See You Again
  11. Goodbye
  12. Penina     

SOURCE Reimagine Music