Justice Department To Honor 12 Individuals And Organizations Serving Crime Victims

Apr 09, 2013, 10:40 ET from Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs

WASHINGTON, April 9, 2013 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The Justice Department will recognize twelve individuals and organizations from nine states for brave actions and innovative approaches to ensuring crime victims' rights, during a national ceremony 2 p.m. Wednesday, April 24.

The National Crime Victims' Rights award recipients are from Arizona, Florida, Hawaii, Kansas, Maryland, New York, Oklahoma, Oregon, Washington, D.C. and Texas. They are selected from public nominations in eight categories, including special courage, professional innovation and crime victim services.

Since 1981, the Department's Office for Victims of Crime has helped lead communities across the country in observing National Crime Victims' Rights Week through this annual ceremony. Attendees include crime victims, survivors, victim advocates and allied professionals.  National Crime Victims' Rights Week will be observed this year from April 21-27. 

National Crime Victims' Rights Service Award Recipients 
Acting Assistant Attorney General for the Office of Justice Programs Mary Lou Leary
Office for Victims of Crime Principal Deputy Director Joye Frost             

WHAT:          2013 Justice Department's National Crime Victims' Rights Ceremony

WHERE:        810 7th Street Northwest 
                     Washington, DC  
                     OPEN PRESS

                     2 P.M. – 3:30 P.M. EDT

SOURCE Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs