Justice Department to Honor Crime Victims, Service Organizations and Teams for Efforts to Advance Crime Victims' Rights

Apr 07, 2014, 10:00 ET from Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs

WASHINGTON, April 7, 2014 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The Justice Department will present ten awards to individuals, victim services programs and teams across the nation that demonstrate outstanding service in supporting crime victims, victim services and victims' rights, during a national ceremony 2 p.m. Wed., April 9.

The National Crime Victims' Rights Service Award recipients are from Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Massachusetts, Minnesota and Washington, D.C. They are selected from public nominations in eight categories, including special courage, financial restoration, public policy and crime victim services.

The Department's Office for Victims of Crime leads communities across the country in observing National Crime Victims' Rights Week every year and hosts an award ceremony to honor outstanding work on behalf of crime victims. Attendees will include survivors, family members, victim advocates and allied professionals. National Crime Victims' Rights Week will be observed this year from April 6-12, and the theme is "30 Years: Restoring the Balance of Justice."

WHO: National Crime Victims' Rights Service Award Recipients
          Deputy Attorney General James Cole
          Associate Attorney General Tony West
          Assistant Attorney General, Office of Justice Programs, Karol V. Mason
          Office for Victims of Crime Director Joye Frost 

WHAT: 2014 Justice Department's National Crime Victims' Rights Service Awards

WHERE: The Justice Department's Great Hall
              950 Pennsylvania Avenue Northwest                       
              Washington, D.C. 
              OPEN PRESS

              2 P.M.3:30 P.M. EDT

SOURCE Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs