Kappa Alpha Theta Honors Ten Outstanding Faculty

Sep 13, 2013, 07:00 ET from Kappa Alpha Theta

INDIANAPOLIS, Sept. 13, 2013 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- Kappa Alpha Theta Fraternity, the first Greek-letter fraternity for women, announces its Ten Outstanding Faculty Members for 2013. This marks the second year the Fraternity recognizes faculty for contributions to colleges and universities where Theta chapters are present via an official nomination and selection process.

The faculty members were selected from more than 110 nominations by Theta college chapters across the United States and Canada. Chapters were asked to select one nominee based on the professor's passion for inspiring students as well as actions that connect to Theta aspirations: intellectual curiosity, leadership potential, commitment to service, and personal excellence. Candidates were not limited by gender, Greek (or non-Greek) affiliation, or disciplinary expertise.

This year's honorees—each of whom received a $500 award from Kappa Alpha Theta—include:

Gary Allison, education, University of Delaware, nominated by Zeta Tau Chapter;
Cinnamon Brown, history, Westminster College, nominated by Epsilon Iota Chapter;
Debra Fischer, astronomy, Yale University, nominated by Epsilon Tau Chapter;
Donna Howard, behavioral and community health, University of Maryland, nominated by Gamma Mu Chapter;
Janet Hyde, psychology and women's studies, University of Wisconsin, nominated by Psi Chapter;
William (Bill) McClure, biology, University of Southern California, nominated by Omicron Chapter;
Michael Rhone, nutritional sciences, Oklahoma State University, nominated by Beta Zeta Chapter;
Michael Souza, psychology, University of British Columbia, nominated by Beta Upsilon Chapter;
Emma Teng, Asian civilizations and Chinese studies, MIT, nominated by Zeta Mu Chapter;
Beth Wee, science and engineering, Tulane University, nominated by Alpha Phi Chapter.

"Kappa Alpha Theta develops intellectually ambitious women who will grow to become leaders in their professions and communities," said Fraternity President Amy Kates. "We encourage our members in their academic pursuits, and we developed the Outstanding Faculty program to recognize the faculty members who support, challenge, and mentor these women every day."

Theta congratulates these outstanding faculty members for their accomplishments and thanks all the nominees for their contributions to the scholastic advancement of our members.

Kappa Alpha Theta, founded in 1870 at DePauw University in Greencastle, Ind., has always valued high scholarship. In the fall of 2012, more than one-fourth of Theta's 132 college chapters achieved the number-one scholarship ranking on their campuses, and 79 percent of Theta chapters were above the all-sorority average on their campuses.

Contact: Victoria Stankus
Assistant Director of Education and Leadership
317-876-8593, ext. 235

SOURCE Kappa Alpha Theta