Latest Winners Announced in International Writers of the Future Contest

2nd Quarter Winners are from the East and West Coasts of Australia and the Rocky Mountains

Oct 14, 2010, 17:20 ET from Writers of the Future

HOLLYWOOD, Calif., Oct. 14 /PRNewswire/ -- The 2nd Quarter winners of the 27th year of the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest were announced today by Joni Labaqui, contest Director.

The Writers of the Future contest was started in 1983 by L. Ron Hubbard "to discover and provide talented new and aspiring writers of science fiction and fantasy a chance to have their work seen and acknowledged."


1st Place -- Patty Jansen of New South Wales, Australia

2nd Place -- Ben Mann of West Australia

3rd Place -- Van Aaron Hughes of Colorado

"We are seeing an increased number of winners from 'Down Under' in the past few years," Labaqui said.

Patty, Ben and Van were chosen from a group of 8 finalists and are now awarded cash prizes, a week long intensive workshop, an awards ceremony and are also published in the annual L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future which will be published in the spring of 2011.

A Grand Prize winner is announced at the annual awards ceremony and is selected by another panel of judges. Patty will now compete with the other first place winners from the first three quarters for the grand prize of $5,000.00.

Well-known contest judges include multiple Nebula and Hugo Award winners and finalists such as Kevin J. Anderson, Orson Scott Card, Anne McCaffrey, Larry Niven, Jerry Pournelle, Tim Powers, Robert J. Sawyer, Robert Silverberg, Dave Wolverton, Sean Williams, Rebecca Moesta, K.D. Wentworth, Kristine Kathryn Rusch, Dean Wesley Smith, Eric Flint and Mike Resnick.

For more information about the contest, go to On the home page click on "contest rules."


John Goodwin

(323) 466-7812

SOURCE Writers of the Future