Michelle L. Rice To Chair NAMIC Board Of Directors

Newly Elected NAMIC Chapter Officers Announced

Feb 26, 2015, 12:46 ET from NAMIC

NEW YORK, Feb. 26, 2015 /PRNewswire/ -- Michelle L. Rice, executive vice president of Affiliate Sales and Marketing at TV One has been named chair of the National Association for Multi-ethnicity in Communications (NAMIC) Board of Directors.  Rice succeeds outgoing board chair, Michael D. Armstrong, executive vice president and general manager, International Brand Development for Viacom International Media Networks.  Concluding a two-year term, Armstrong will continue his affiliation with the NAMIC board in his new role as Immediate Past Chair.

Eglon E. Simons, NAMIC's president and CEO stated: "On behalf of the NAMIC team, our industry partners, members, and all constituencies, it is my honor to welcome Michelle Rice, a distinguished executive and diversity champion. Also, many thanks are extended to Michael Armstrong, for his resolute commitment to advancing diversity and the tireless leadership demonstrated over his two-year term. As we celebrate NAMIC's 35th anniversary, the high caliber of industry leaders that comprise NAMIC's board of directors and the talented officers guiding our regional chapters will be a winning combination as we work to further our mission."

Michelle L. Rice commented: "For 35 years, our industry has benefited from the undertaking of a dedicated group of professionals that had the foresight to advocate for greater inclusion. In this dynamic business climate where the customer base that we serve is becoming increasingly diverse, I welcome the opportunity to advance the works of my colleagues who preceded me. I look forward to engaging my fellow board members, NAMIC's talented staff and the excellent network of chapter leaders to continue expanding the pipeline of professionals of color within our industry."

In addition to naming Rice as board chair, NAMIC today announced the results of the latest Chapter Officer elections facilitated within the association's 16 nationwide chapters.  Newly elected and incumbent chapter leaders representing many of the communications industry's leading companies are now serving terms.

NAMIC 2015 Chapter Officers


President: Alana Leverette, senior director, Distribution, The Weather Channel; Vice President: Joyclan Sumpter, director, Distribution Operations, The Weather Channel; Treasurer: Holly Robinson, director, Strategic Initiatives Business Operations Product & Technology, Cox Communications, Inc.; and Secretary: Nichelle Evans, MBA, senior manager, Human Resources, Comcast Cable, Central Division.


President: Monica Moore, regional manager, Commercial Business Intelligence and Applications, Time Warner Cable; Vice President: Tunza Wallace, knowledge management coordinator, Customer Experience Team, Time Warner Cable Business Class; Treasurer: Kellee Evans, market development, Leasing Admin - East Region, Time Warner Cable Business Class; and Secretary: Danine Prakash, MBA, PMP, facilitator, Customer Care, Time Warner Cable Business Class.


President: Anthony Robinson, executive care manager, Comcast Corporation; Vice President: Alex Anderson, manager, Technical Operations, Comcast; Treasurer: TJ Imam, financial analyst, Comcast; and Secretary: Felisha Bosby, FTC supervisor, Comcast.


President: Joelle Patience, vice president, creative director, BrandBravo Creative; Vice President: Kash Kabaria, senior manager, National Systems Infrastructure; Treasurer: Jason Rademacher, attorney, Cooley LLP; and Secretary: Tselane Robertson, manager- Cox Business Referral Program, Cox Communications.


President: Billy Wright, marketing manager, Xfinity Communications, Comcast Cable


President: Greg Salvatore, manager, Employee Communications, Comcast; Vice President: David Vang, supervisor, Technical Operations, Comcast; Treasurer: Malena Talley, supervisor, Billing, Comcast; and Secretary: Larry Rodrigue, CommTech 5, Comcast.


President: Nicole Granston, senior manager, Showtime Networks, Inc.; Vice President: Keith Anderson, director, Distribution Sales and Marketing, Univision; and Treasurer: Sean Gupta, senior director, Time Warner Cable, Business Decisions.


President: Angel A. Arocho, senior director, Strategic Services, Comcast; Vice-President: Richard Belizaire, financial analyst, Comcast; TreasurerAmanee Scott-Stephan, federal tax, Comcast; Co-Treasurer: Jessica Seitz, senior manager, Product Strategy, Comcast; and Secretary: Aisha Riley, receptionist, Comcast.


President: Mitzi Givens-Russell, manager, Franchise Operations and Compliance, Comcast; Vice President: Ken Maxey, director, Government Affairs, Comcast; and Treasurer: Joshua Simes, director, Field Operations, Comcast Cable Corporation.


President: Paul Biava, regional vice president of Technical Operations, Comcast, Florida Region; Vice President: Ray Roundtree, CFO - regional vice president of Finance, Comcast, Florida Region; Treasurer: Carleesha Porter, director, Human Resources, Comcast Communications; and Secretary: Zurelys Cardenas, senior manager of HR, Comcast.


President: Raquel Williams, director, Distribution, Crown Media Family Networks, Hallmark Channel & Hallmark Movie Channel; Vice President: Monique Kelley, senior account manager, Strategic Partnerships, Warner Bros.; Treasurer: Esther Weinberg, CEO, MindLight Group; and Secretary: Tisha Harris, senior manager, Programming and Promo Strategy, REVOLT TV.


President: Todd Gatzke, director, Technical Operations/Engineering Operations, Comcast; Vice President: Byron Williamson, manager, Human Resources, Comcast; Treasurer: Dina Mitchell, administrative assistant, Comcast; and Secretary: Vivian A. Lowe, administrative assistant, Suddenlink Communications. 


President: Ryan Rowland, senior designer, CMT; and Treasurer: Charlotte Coffer, Manager, Event Marketing, Scripps Networks Interactive.


President: Alfred Brown Jr., ASC Solutions, Comcast; Vice President: Freddie Bracero, Tech Support, Comcast; and Treasurer: Marcus Daniel, customer service representative, Comcast Corporation.

For more information on NAMIC and its programs and initiatives, visit http://www.namic.com.


NAMIC (National Association for Multi-ethnicity in Communications) is the premier organization focusing on multi-ethnic diversity in the communications industry. Founded in 1980 as a non-profit trade association, today NAMIC comprises 2,200 professionals belonging to a network of 16 chapters nationwide. Through initiatives that focus on education, advocacy and empowerment, NAMIC champions equity and inclusion in the workforce, with special attention given to ensuring that the leadership cadres of our nation's communications industry giants reflect the multi-ethnic richness of the populations they serve. For more information, please visit www.namic.com and stay connected to NAMIC on Facebook, LinkedIn, and Twitter.

Charmaine Chapman
BTB Communications Group
310-882-5498 (office) / 323-680-3273 (cell)

Logo - http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20060705/NYW092LOGO