Michigan law enforcement agencies Earn Traffic Safety Awards

Feb 14, 2013, 15:09 ET from AAA Michigan

DEARBORN, Mich., Feb. 14, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- The Norton Shores Police Department has earned top honors in the 2013 Award for Traffic Safety Excellence from the Michigan Association of Chiefs of Police (MACP), the Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning (OHSP) and AAA Michigan.

(Logo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20110321/CL67889LOGO )

The award recognizes the outstanding commitment the department made in the previous year to overall traffic safety.  The department received a $17,000 Grand Prize Award.  The first-place award and $11,000 went to Michigan State Police, Negaunee Post.  The Novi Police Department won second place and $7,000 for their traffic safety efforts.

There was a three-way tie for third-place honors.  The Michigan State University Police Department, Michigan State Police St. Ignace Post and the Auburn Hills Police Department each received $5,000 for their efforts.  Additionally, two departments assisting Auburn Hills will receive a plaque.  They are the Troy and Bloomfield Township police departments.

The winners were judged tops from some 34 applications statewide.  A judging panel represented by OHSP, Michigan Department of Transportation, Prosecuting Attorneys Association and AAA made the selection, with awards presented at the MACP mid-winter conference held Feb. 7 at the Amway Grand Hotel and Conference Center in Grand Rapids.  Awards were presented by OHSP and AAA.